We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising large, very nice room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Menlo Park Hotel to your Saves list
Menlo Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprising large, very nice room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable with nice amenities. About a five minute drive to downtown. Pub is average but staff is pleasant and helpful. Would stay again if I were back in the area. Bathroom has jacuzzi tub and large shower with adult size soap bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    223
    70
    18
    3
See reviews for
93
339
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My 16 year old daughter stayed at the Menlo Park Hotel for one night on a recent trip to Ireland with other students and chaperones from her school. She bought a Claddagh ring while she was in Galway, but left it behind in her hotel room when they checked out the next morning. With low expectations, I sent an email to the hotel later that day, hoping that the housekeepers might have found the ring while cleaning the room and turned it in to the front desk. Twenty minutes later I got a reply that the ring had been found! They mailed it to our home in the United States, where it arrived a few days later, still in the box from the jewelry store! I would like to believe stories like this always turn out this way, but I doubt it. We are grateful to the staff at the Menlo Park Hotel for their honesty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just outside of town, about a 20-25 minute walk to the centre. Clean, comfortable rooms, large bathroom. Very helpfull staff, without being fake friendly which is always a bonus. Didn't eat in the restaurant but had dinner in the bar downstairs; Varied menu, lovely food, big portions and resonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose the Menlo Park Hotel during the week of the Galway Races because they were available and, comparted to other available hotels, their prices were the most reasonable. We had 2 rooms for our family, one of the larger king suites and one standard room with a queen + twin. I personally feel that my standard room had an updated bathroom (it was very pretty) but had older furniture and decor in the bedroom area. All items were functional. The king suite was very pretty and the bathroom was very beautiful. The hotel has no air conditioning; we were there during the summer heatwave and my room was rather warm at night however I did get a table top fan from the front desk which made the room more tolerable. The king suite was not as hot due to where the sun set and also it had 2 windows on opposite walls to help the air flow. The bar area was nice and the staff worked very hard and was very friendly. The food was very good. One night there was a disagreement among the locals and staff which resulted in a late night loud argument outside one of our rooms at 2 am. I'm not sure that we will stay at the Menlo Park hotel in the future but for this particular trip it served us well.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the risk of late night noise outside, ask for a room which the window does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

lovely hotel, lovely rooms, very comfy beds, excellent food, very friendly accommodating staff, what you would expect really from a 4 star hotel. we had a really pleasant stay here, the breakfast was excellent. i love the touch of putting water, chocolates and robes in your room. the hotel is situated about a mile from the town center, it's only about a 20 minute straight walk past some nice shopping parks, however a few times due to the weather we did resort to a taxi to and from town which seems to vary from about 6.5 euros to 10 euros which adds to the cost. the only thing that would stop me staying here again is that it is a bit pricey and we don't tend to spend a lot of time in the hotel and the location, that walk into town can be annoying if you are doing it a few times a day, so would look for something nearer the center of town but i would stay again thought

Room Tip: don't get a room over-looking the carpark can be noisy, with vans and deliveries early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Maureen

Thank you for your great review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
For information there is a bus service from right outside the hotel. This runs regulalry during the day. In addition in relation to the accommodation prices, we offer really excellent deals on the hotel website - especially off season, so please do keep an eye when you are planning to return.
Thanks again for the encouragement with your lovely comments.
Best wishes from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roundstone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

v v v clean hotel David , The Manager is ever vigilant and it shows ... nice room and good beds .. good food for tired travellers and the friendliness is refreshing will stay again handy parking / location for a walk to town / centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Celt57
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
David was Manager her until 2007 and since then it has been under the caring eye of Elaine Healy and her team who really appreciate your kind comments. We do hope to see you again when you are passing and thanks again for so kindly recommending us to your visitors from Italy.
Warm regards from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is right off of a round about outside of town. Well situated if you have a car, but not a walk into town, if that's what you are looking for. It is more like a motel from the street, but we booked a room in the new section and were pleasantly surprised by robes and slippers, a bottle of water and Cadbury candy box in our room Breakfast was quite decent, but perhaps a little more Holiday Inn Express steam table than expected. It was fine, but frankly, I would stay in a B&B were I to do Galway again. Not really the flavor of Ireland--and the music in the hotel barlike pub doesn't start until 10PM--disappointing. Free parking and easy highway access was a plus.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upgrade to larger, more modern rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Dreytuch
Thanks for the review. It is great that you liked your room and the extra touches.
These are standard in our Superior Rooms. We are located in parkland with a large garden to the front of the hotel. We have got great reviews from other sources for our breakfast. In addition to the buffet, we offer a menu with great omelettes and pancakes as well as healthy options. I am sorry that this failed to satisfy you fully. Unlike a lot of hotels, we are very much a local venue and
this is a very important part of our ethos and our business. We are a family owned operation and the hotel is built on the site of the ancestral home. We are located in the Gaeltacht area of Galway and have won awards for the use of Irish in the business. The village of Menlo and Menlo Castle is just two miles up the road. Our staff have had so many comments about their friendliness and we would be of the opinion that as such we offer a really good flavour of Ireland.
Thanks for staying with us and for your positive remarks. Any other remarks help to keep us on our toes!
Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#6 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.