We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Menlo Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 hotels in Galway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

lovely hotel, lovely rooms, very comfy beds, excellent food, very friendly accommodating staff, what you would expect really from a 4 star hotel. we had a really pleasant stay here, the breakfast was excellent. i love the touch of putting water, chocolates and robes in your room. the hotel is situated about a mile from the town center, it's only about a 20 minute straight walk past some nice shopping parks, however a few times due to the weather we did resort to a taxi to and from town which seems to vary from about 6.5 euros to 10 euros which adds to the cost. the only thing that would stop me staying here again is that it is a bit pricey and we don't tend to spend a lot of time in the hotel and the location, that walk into town can be annoying if you are doing it a few times a day, so would look for something nearer the center of town but i would stay again thought

Room Tip: don't get a room over-looking the carpark can be noisy, with vans and deliveries early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Maureen

Thank you for your great review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
For information there is a bus service from right outside the hotel. This runs regulalry during the day. In addition in relation to the accommodation prices, we offer really excellent deals on the hotel website - especially off season, so please do keep an eye when you are planning to return.
Thanks again for the encouragement with your lovely comments.
Best wishes from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    201
    61
    16
    3
See reviews for
85
301
30
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roundstone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

v v v clean hotel David , The Manager is ever vigilant and it shows ... nice room and good beds .. good food for tired travellers and the friendliness is refreshing will stay again handy parking / location for a walk to town / centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Celt57
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
David was Manager her until 2007 and since then it has been under the caring eye of Elaine Healy and her team who really appreciate your kind comments. We do hope to see you again when you are passing and thanks again for so kindly recommending us to your visitors from Italy.
Warm regards from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is right off of a round about outside of town. Well situated if you have a car, but not a walk into town, if that's what you are looking for. It is more like a motel from the street, but we booked a room in the new section and were pleasantly surprised by robes and slippers, a bottle of water and Cadbury candy box in our room Breakfast was quite decent, but perhaps a little more Holiday Inn Express steam table than expected. It was fine, but frankly, I would stay in a B&B were I to do Galway again. Not really the flavor of Ireland--and the music in the hotel barlike pub doesn't start until 10PM--disappointing. Free parking and easy highway access was a plus.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upgrade to larger, more modern rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Dreytuch
Thanks for the review. It is great that you liked your room and the extra touches.
These are standard in our Superior Rooms. We are located in parkland with a large garden to the front of the hotel. We have got great reviews from other sources for our breakfast. In addition to the buffet, we offer a menu with great omelettes and pancakes as well as healthy options. I am sorry that this failed to satisfy you fully. Unlike a lot of hotels, we are very much a local venue and
this is a very important part of our ethos and our business. We are a family owned operation and the hotel is built on the site of the ancestral home. We are located in the Gaeltacht area of Galway and have won awards for the use of Irish in the business. The village of Menlo and Menlo Castle is just two miles up the road. Our staff have had so many comments about their friendliness and we would be of the opinion that as such we offer a really good flavour of Ireland.
Thanks for staying with us and for your positive remarks. Any other remarks help to keep us on our toes!
Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had to ask for a room change after the first as we had been placed in a room overlooking the roof and ventilation system of the kitchen (Menlo Park call this an Economy room). This made opening a window unpleasant due to the noise and smell - the room therefore became quite hot and stuffy - to cap it all, we had paid for a standard room, not an Economy! To be fair, we were transferred to a more appropriate room after we asked for a change. This room faced the road and was also quite noisy with or without the windows open. The rooms themselves were reasonably appointed, clean and modern. The breakfast selection was good. The hotel is a reasonable walk to the town centre if you like walking - its not very picturesque however and you are along a main road. Surely to be a four star hotel, ALL the rooms you hire out should be of at least that quality, not just some. Look around and see if you can do better and if you do book, make sure you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Peter
Thank you for your review and for your feedback. I apologise that you say you were allocated an economy room when you had paid for a standard or classic room. The economy rooms are those which are over the Function area and we like guests to be aware of this when booking, more so at weekends as we rarely have music or weddings during the week. All of our economy and classic rooms are of similar standard, decor and furnishing. Our Superior rooms of which there are 16 have king beds and larger bathrooms and are individually decorated. There is a nicer walk into town via The Dyke Road. One turns right out of the hotel and goes in the direction of Menlo Village & Pier but turn left back into the city. We do continue to offer excellent value when booking direct on our website. If you enter “Tripadvisor” as the promotional code, you can avail of discounts at certain times, subject to availability. Thank you for your positive comments about the breakfast. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Galway and a great holiday.
Kind regards from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

fantastic hotel and staff very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent very close to the city and the guiness was beautiful will definately stay there again
Would recommend it to any of my friends and family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Siobhan
it is great to get good comments- not just about the food, but the Guinness .. We have a great local trade so that is extremely important!
So delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .. we really look forward to welcoming you back again.l
Kind regards from all at The Menlo Park..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was only OK, we booked through the Supervalue site which had a deal of €170 for 2 people for 2 nights including breakfast very good deal but cheap comes as a price - hotel was extremely quite (mid week) but we were clearly given one of the most basic, bland (definitely needs to be modernised) rooms in the hotel!! We got a glimpse into many other rooms as housekeeping kept all the doors opened of the rooms on our floor after they have been cleaned and they were away 'nicer' rooms!! You certainly get what you pay for. Breakfast was only OK again quite basic, I believe you should be given proper dinner plates (as this is what every other hotel gives) but the plates provided were in between side plates and dinner plates. No tomatoes or fried eggs and only two slices of toast given for two people (one slice each is quite mean!) No staff on the floor for us to even ask for these items or extra toast! If you pay cheap you are not valued as a customer and given the most basic of things!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Shel1984
Thankyou for your review. I have taken note of your main issue and wanted immediately to
put things in the proper perspective. Fristly Supervalu Getaway breaks are a very valued partner of ours and we have very many guests who are repeat customers for many years. The clientele from Supervalu are very valued customers and while the rates offered via this channel guarantee excellent and consistent value for Supervalu clients, we would take issue with your saying that they are cheap.. Therefore your assertions in this case I am afraid are just not true and we do not accept this at all. Secondly we offer all kinds of deals and promotions and to say that if a guest pays a cheaper rate, that they are not valued as a customer is very wrong!

In relation to our rooms, we do have superior rooms and we would be genuinely delighted to offer you a free upgrade should wish to visit again. Should you wish to book with Supervalu, you can call the call centre and let them know that you have been offered a free upgrade. Their very capable staff will ensure that this is done for you.
In relation to your comments about the breakfast. We do use breakfast plates for breakfast.
Breakfast consists of a full buffet option with other extras such specialities as Pancakes, Omelettes and Gluten Free options on a menu. We would certainly not think of ourselves as mean in what we offer and it is most regrettable that you felt this way. Thankfully most other reviews from our guests strongly counter what you have said about our staff and service. However, we take all comments and feedback very seriously, issues are discussed thoroughly at our Management Meetings and everything is very valuable. Thank you.
As earlier stated, please do let us know should you consider a return visit and we can arrange for you to have a complimentary upgrade to one of our superior rooms.
With kind regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, staff are very helpful and friendly. It's a 20 minute walk into the center of Galway. The breakfast was delicious and lots of different foods on offer. Rooms were nice and clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#6 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.