We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Menlo Park Hotel to your Saves list
Menlo Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Menlo hotel on a business trip to Galway.Friendly staff.Room was exceptionally clean.Bed was comfortable & joined their loyalty card club as am frequent visitor to Galway.Only blip was Beef dinner was not warm when ordered but dealt with diligently with restaurant staff and tasted tender and very nice piping hot.Nice atmosphere in the bar with the locals enjoying soccer game.Breakfast lovely and seemed to be freshly cooked which is a big + .Coffee nice.Overall a nice hotel and would definitely stay again.well done

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Damacon
Thanks for the great review. So pleased you enjoy the atmosphere here.
We are delighted with that you would stay again and that you have joined the loyalty club.
The business special is a great offer which you will find on our website. Alternatively
you can enter tripadvisor as promotional code to get a discount on bed and breakfast rates.
Thanks also for you comments about the food and delighted that any issue was resolved satisfactorily. We have just re-designed and launched new exciting menus in both bar and restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you back again.. Sincerely .. All the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    223
    70
    18
    3
See reviews for
93
339
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I already have twice stayed in the Menlo Park Hotel in Galway. I particularly like the great effort and genuineness of each staff member to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They Menlo Park has it all: Nice and clean rooms, fabulous food, friendly staff, free Wifi, free parking etc. I like the business package. Great idea. Ulrich

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ulrich
We were really delighted with your feedback. Obvously it is very important to us that we tick the correct boxes for our business guests and for that reason we especially value your comments.
Delighted also that you like the business package .. it has been very popular and offers guests more incentives for booking direct. Thank you so much for saying that we are unique and genuine.. That means a great deal to the team...
Looking forward to seeing you again......... best regards from all at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked here after a friend was there the previous week and recommended it. Great value superior room extremely clean and spacious. The fruit bowl which was then replemised the next day was a lovely touch as were the bathrobes. Rooms were really warm and cozy. Had sandwich in bar 1st nite which was lovely my partner had crab sliders second day just found the buns a bit stoggy but a very minor thing. Staff in bar were super friendly and efficent as were all the staff. Only a short walk from town would definitely stay here next visit to galway big thanks to all staff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sunderland07
We would like to thank you very much for your great review! Being a private, family owned hotel,
your comments about the personal touch are especially gratifyng.
So pleased you enjoyed the superior room and the added extras. Your comments are very welcome and we have noted your points on every score. We really do value the tremendous feedback we get from tripadvisor guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a weekend here for a surprise for himself, When booking I told the receptionist and as the bridal suite was free that weekend they put us in it for no extra cost!! Much appreciated!

Had a beautiful meal on the Sat night in restaurant, followed by great live music in the bar.
Breakfast buffet was unreal the next morning!

On Monday morning we slept in for breakfast , the staff were so kind and friendly and still gave us a breakfast menu to order from even though she was flat out preparing the restaurant for a funeral party to arrive in the afternoon.

I have photos of our beautiful room we were in and will upload them when I get a chance!

Thanks a mill to all at the Menlo- excellent staff!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Flowerbomb!
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the updgrade went down well for the surprise!. Also really pleased to hear you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. Do please let us know when you are planning the next surprise and we will be more than happy to collude!! Best wishes from all the team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed in the hotel for a one night stay. We got a lovely welcome from reception staff and the room was very nice and spacious. The en suite was new and modern!

We ate in the bar that evening which had a delicious menu - couldn't recommend it enough. Big portions, reasonably priced!

Breakfast was also very tasty. They had a great selection in the buffet and we didn't feel rushed to move on.

Very pleasant stay and would return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear EJB14
Thank you so much for the great review and delighted to hear that you would return.. that is the main thing for us. We love to welcome back guests and we are honoured to have many returning guests on a regular basis. Tripadvisor guests can enter "tripadvisor" as promotional code to qualify for extra discounts off best available rate when booking direct.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future..
From all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just back from a two night stay the staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. Our room was lovely very spacious with a nice big en suite. We had lunch in the bar on arrival which was excellent and very reasonable. Drinks were priced very competitively and there was a lot of locals having lunch there which I thought was a good sign. We had dinner on the first evening from the a la carte menu. I was disappointed with dinner which although well presented and generous amounts it was quite bland. The bar food appeared better for some reason. Breakfast was lovely my husband got a huge bowl of creamy porridge which he enjoyed. I liked the fact that they cooked the hot food to order. Its a lovely friendly hotel spotlessly clean with a lovely staff. I would definitely recommend it for a very good value break. it is only a 15-20 min walk to the centre of Galway and Galway shopping centre and a cinema plex are only about 10 mins away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mary H
Thanks you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed that your stay with us. Your comments about the accommodations, staff, service and bar food are very welcome.
Good to hear your husband enjoyed the porridge.. the porridge, the pancakes and the omelettes are always very popular. We have just launched a really great new bar menu, details of which are on the hotel website. We are also launching a new restaurant menu and your comments about the food have been discussed at the management meeting, so you can be assured that your comments have been taken on board and will assist in developing our products throughout the whole hotel to the same high standard... We look forward to welcoming you back again..
Sincere best wishes from all the team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Okay we stayed here New Year's Eve and New Year's Day, we upgraded to the honeymoon suite which I recommend at a miserly cost pf 20 euro per night. The room was tiredly elegant however wilted fruit on arrival and tepid wine did detract from this luxury. After that the chunk of hair in the jacuzzi bath definitely took from the specialty of the occasion. The staff at front desk were on arrival exemplary. However on our second night after spending almost 25euro at the residents bar at 12 midnight we were at 12.20 informed the bar was closed. Bad form

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Keith H
Thank you sincerely for your great feedback and comments. You have made your points in a very constructive way. It is great that overall you found the hotel to be great value and yes the upgrade supplements are very reasonable. In defence of the Accommodation team .. they truly are an award winning team and your comments have been taken very seriously about the jacuzzi.
I am really sorry that the fruit and prosecco was not as it should have been and this has prompted a discussion about procedure in relation to establishing estimated time of arrival of guests. It's nice to have "the extras" in place on arrival but not if they are put in too early.
Our procedure for late bar facilities is usually to leave the full bar available to residents while there is demand. Your comments about having been told the bar had closed are being investigated. We have taken all of your comments on board and the "could be better" aspect of your comment.. We are always striving to improve the product and guest experience and such feedback as yours helps us to do in this in a pro-active way for the future.
We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincere best wishes from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#6 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.