We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anno Santo

Anno Santo
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anno Santo to your Saves list
Anno Santo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

staff excellent room clean good location good value for money would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
9
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for the Volvo Ocean Race for 2 nights. What a little gem, staff are superb, couldn't be more helpful. Proper old time Irish Hospitality. Breakfast, was freshly cooked, which is a welcome change from the usual buffet style. Our room was extreemly clean and bigger than most hotel rooms out there currently. Definately going back, and the ultimate bonus for us was their pet friendly policy. Super stay, looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk Co louth Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed in the Anno Santo last weekend for two nights
Thhe price was very good in comparison to the other hotels in Galway which were very overpriced as the boat race was on
The owners are very friendly and helpfull
Thhe room was clean and very comfortable lovely people in the bar at night a real home from home The breakfast was freshly cooked served at your table by friendly staff and just lovely unlike the big hotels that seem to have everything cooked for a long time
We enjoyed our stay so much that my husband has booked to go back for a race meeting in September he has been to this hotel often and it is a favourite of his and after this trip mine also

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

i stayed in this hotel with friends... hotel is a very generous word this is basically a bed and breakfast with a bar. smell of must throughout the hotel and the decore leaves a lot be be desired. to reach our room we had to walk through what appeared to be a make shift classroom, which had ppl in it when we were leaving the following morning. our room was clean and it is grand if you do not plan to spend long in the "hotel". breakfast was not included in our rate and we did not stay for breakfast as we found the price they were charging too expensive and the place just looked cramped where you would be eating.
on the upside the price was reasonable and for the trip we were having which was just a girls nite out it suited us fine as all we wanted was a bed to sleep in. the owners/staff are friendly just dont go there expecting a star rated hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anno1, Owner at Anno Santo, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that we are graded as a two star hotel and all hotels are inspected every year by TAMS who are the official Irish hotel grading inspector agency.
I disagree with your comments regarding the "smell of must throughout" and " the decore throughout leaves a lot to be desired", in fact none of these facts are true as we had our hotel regular inspection only in the last couple of weeks by TAMS and no figurative mention of this was apairent. Infact the inspector refers the style as "olde traditional and pleasantly friendly". Your mention of a "make shift classroom " is also not true, areeably there was a group of persons having a discussion and this area, which was requested by a resident of the Hotel. Regarding the breakfast room , it is adequate for the size of the hotel and as you did not have breakfast or use any of our facilities, I fear it difficult that you can make an accurate observation on this.

Kind regards
The Manager/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed in this small quiet Galway hotel over the years and have always been very satisfied with my visits. I stayed there again a few weeks ago and had no reason to change my opinion. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is first-class and cooked to order. It is great to get a way from the tired, reheated breakfast components that one encounters all too often in Ireland. It is always very good value for money. Each time I go back I am greeted like a long-lost relation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here because the pictures on the web looked very inviting. On arrival to our rooms I felt likechecking out again, but it was too late in the day to find alternative accommodation. The musty smell in the rooms was terrible. The showers just about worked. The room and bed was clean, but very cold and could do with some brightening up. The room was definitly overpriced. I/we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkinstown, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The website paints a lovely picture, but the Anno Santo does not deliver. The interior & furnishings are old, which I don't mind, but the musky smell I do. The place was cold, in temperature and atmosphere, and the staff made little effort to be welcoming. We asked for breakfasts which never came and had to make do with whatever was at the buffet. It was over priced too. The only good thing about the hotel was it's proximity to Salthill. Steer clear, unless you're hard up.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anno Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anno Santo

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anno Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Anno Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anno Santo Salthill
Anno Santo Hotel Salthill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anno Santo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.