We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the worst hotel we stayed in during our three-week trip to Ireland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ardilaun Hotel to your Saves list
The Ardilaun Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Easily the worst hotel we stayed in during our three-week trip to Ireland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Ardilaun Hotel has virtually nothing to recommend itself to guests. It is inconveniently located with respect to downtown Galway. It is not particularly attractive from the ourside. When we arrived, wedding guests overflowed the reception/lobby area. What kind of hotel stages a drinks reception in the lobby? The woman at the desk seemed to be trying to impress with her ability to multi-task: answering the phone and dealing (poorly) with three customers simultaneously. Our room was pathetically small; there was virtually no space to unpack suitcases except by placing them on the bed. The bathroom was borderline squalid, and the standard of housekeeping was abysmal: there were actual spider webs dangling from the ceiling light fixture and in a corner of the room beside the bed. The view from the window was onto a noisy ventilation shaft. The impression we received was that the hotel was doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there. A ghastly place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Dear 'rossco155043',

Apologies for the delayed response to your review. Over the past few days we have spent considerable time trying to investigate specific details of your booking with us but, unfortunately, have been unsuccessful.

It is very disappointing for us to read your harsh review and we really feel that we must disagree with many of the comments contained in it.

The Ardilaun Hotel is family owned and managed since 1962 and is very popular and well respected by local, national and international guests with some of our guests returning time and time again to stay with us.

Our website is very informative and truthful in relation to location, detail, images etc. It shows most recent images of the outside of the hotel - our beautiful tree-lined driveway, the front of the hotel and our beautifully landscaped gardens (for which we have won many awards over the years).

Cleanliness is very important to us here at the hotel and our dedicated accommodation and housekeeping team take great daily pride in their work and how the hotel is maintained - both in public areas and in private guest areas. Again, this is an area in which we have achieved award status.

We are sorry that you may not have felt comfortable on your arrival to the hotel - the foyer area of our hotel is designed with guest comfort in mind and it is unfortunate that your arrival to the hotel co-incided with a reception. The foyer is used as a reception area for weddings and functions (as is the case in many hotels) with a separate bar available for private use of wedding/function guests. It is also used by guests as a meeting point or an area to relax. We have, of course, alternative areas for guests of the hotel to relax in if they feel they would like to do so - our Garden & TV Lounges which are conveniently located close to the reception area.

If you would like to make contact with us directly by e-mail / telephone, we would be very happy to speak with you personally. We would very much welcome your call. Guest satisfaction is very important to us here.

Looking forward to the possibility of hearing from you at your convenience.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    266
    111
    63
    35
See reviews for
217
353
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

despite booking hiccup and a shower malfunction the highly professional and super freindly reception staff had us sorted out in less than 15 minutes! our room was really clean, very comfortable with all listed facilities. It wasa quiet we were delighted to have a fine view of the gardens. And joy! extra pillows if required!! The bistro was excellent adn we enjoyed a great atmosphere there for the world cup final . the food was excellent and in huge quantities! the staff were very friendly and offfered plenty of irish craic to a multi culutral clientele that night! the food in the restaurant is magnificent, combining new ideas with good local produce.. we were amazed at the full menu being included in our 2 nights offer... mind you we didnt refuse! Our waitress Marzan was simply one of the best we have encountered on our many trips to the west coast..an absolute delight but all waiting staff were so friendly
The hotel location is superb, for city walks in Galway, beach strolls in Salthill itself only moments away and for trips along the coast easily accessed. the free carpark is also a huge bonus.
I can certianly see whay so mnay reviewers return often to teh Ardilaun. it will certainly not be our last visit either adn would have no hesitation in recommneding it ot our freinds..especially teh value offered in their 2 night offer. terrific! Thanks to david at reception for sorting us out and hi to marzan too!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear 'wynnrose',

We are absolutely delighted to read your wonderful post today. Thank You.
You are very kind to post your feedback and memories of your recent stay with us and we sincerely appreciate it.

Your review has been communicated to each department throughout the hotel and your greeting has been passed on to Marzena - she is thrilled.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

When I looked at pictures of the hotel I was a little nervous, but once I saw the hotel I am very impressed. It is located in Taylors Hill nicely tucked away off the road. My daughter had her wedding there. The hotel was very accomodating, and excellent in making sure the event went off with a hitch. The rooms were very nice, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear 'mahh78',

You are very kind to take the time to post your review here on tripadvisor. A sincere thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your daughters wedding here at the hotel and that you will have good memories of the very special day.

Should you be in Galway again in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a fab hotel, excellent. 5 old schoolfriends meeting up after flying into Galway for the weekend - had a connecting triple and double room, so great for our party. Spotlessly clean and spacious. Staff at reception are very professional and friendly. The food is delicious. Lovely gardens too. This hotel is a nice downhill 10 minute walk into the city of Galway, and is well placed as in the other direction, you can get to Salthill and the great seafront, prom and beach. Ignore any negative reviews (they must be from impatient greedy people who just love to complain). We loved Galway for the weekend and the Ardilaun was superb. Do go and see Riff Raff in the Kings Head or Spanish Arch pub - seriously brilliant rock band

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Dear 'GirlsontourJune2010',

Thank You. We sincerely appreciate your lovely review. It has been communicated throughout the hotel and has given us a lovely start to our Tuesday.

So glad that you all enjoyed your time with us here at The Ardilaun and the social life of Galway too.

We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our large group stayed in The Ardilaun Hotel for a few days while we were visiting gardens in Galway. Check in was so efficient - none of the usual waiting while rooming list was checked. A minor personal problem with one of the rooms was dealt with immediately. All staff in whatever situation they were encountered from reception to the chambermaids were friendly and helpful.
Despite the fact that there were two other groups dining at the same time, the service in the restaurant was impeccable and the menu interesting on all three evenings plus there was no attempt to rush us through dinner - as so often happens with groups.
Rooms were comfortable and many of the group commented on the comfort of the beds.
All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear 'BayGarden',

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are sincerely delighted that you have such wonderful memories of your recent stay with us and that you have taken the time to share them.

Each and every guest is important to us - be they booked as an individual or as part of a group. When we read reviews such as this one, we are left with a huge sense of satisfaction that we have met our guests expectations. Thank you again. Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed in this hotel as we had our Conference. I had emailed the hotel several times to request a upgrade but unfortunately the hotel did't respond. So I got a pretty standard room in the old part.
leisure centre lovely .
Car parking good.
Breakfast - service very slow had to wait for a long time coffee to come. Bur food is good.
Dinner in resturant good but very little choice.
Bar food was expensive and very slow service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear 'seajac',

We thank you for your recent reveiw here on tripadvisor. All feedback is welcomed and it is appreciated when people take the time.

Following receipt of your post, we have investigated issues raised to the best of our ability. Unfortunately, as we are not absolutely sure of the dates on which you stayed with us, it is difficult for us to provide you with an accurate response.

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise to you for any inconvenience caused.

It is disappointing for us to read your feedback in relation to your accommodation upgrade request. I can assure you that it is our intention and aim, at all times, to respond to all requests. Our reservations manager reassures me that e-mails which are sent to the hotel are monitored on a regular basis throughout the day. We have checked for any requests which may have been overlooked (inbox, spam and lostmails) but there are none outstanding. I just hope that the e-mail address which you have for the hotel is correct?

Service issues which you have posted have been brought to the attention of our both our restaurant and bar managers. Unfortunately, as we cannot ascertain the dates in question, we cannot address as well as we would like to. However, we would like to express that we aim to provide a comfortable service for our guests. It is disappointing to read that you did not experience our usual level of service.

We thank you for your comments in relation to quality of food. Our head chef and his team are in the early stages of discussing details of a new Bistro menu which we hope to introduce as soon as possible.

Again, thank you for all of your feedback and for the time that you have taken to post it.

I hope that you will consider our hotel should you visit Galway again in the future.

With Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

very professionally run hotel, very clean, staff very friendly, food was lovely, leisure centre very relaxing, would highly recommend it-also always have problems with parking in hotels, with this one no hassle!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdilaunManager, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear 'KerryGem',

It is lovely for us to read your feedback and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your review - it is very much appreciated.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ardilaun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.