We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel for everyone. Friendly efficient service, luxurious rooms, excellent food in the bistro(didn't use restaurant th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ardilaun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 hotels in Galway
1 review
“This is a hotel for everyone. Friendly efficient service, luxurious rooms, excellent food in the bistro(didn't use restaurant th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

This is a hotel for everyone. Friendly efficient service, luxurious rooms, excellent food in the bistro(didn't use restaurant this time) would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear 'Jlist',

Thank you for your review - we very much appreciate that you have taken the time to post here on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    207
    89
    57
    33
See reviews for
179
284
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed there 28/30 Sept 2011 for a short break with my wife.This is a charming hotel in lovely surroundings some 20 mins walk from Galway city centre.Atmosphere in bar /restaurant is totally relaxing and the food is good too-the bar menu pricing offers excellent value.Breakfast is equally good.Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean.A problem with a TV remote was remedied within five minutes of a call to the front desk.Staff are efficient and friendly and the whole place just seems to operate like clockwork with emphasis on guests' comfort very much evident in the way the hotel goes about it's business.
Overall the hotel offers excellent comfort and value for money and I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear 'mcgillj',

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for posting your review so that others can know of your experience with us.

We really are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have you as our guests again at some point in the future.

Thank you again

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just back from two nights at this hotel with four American friends-once you step inside the door
of this hotel you will find an excellent well trained hotel reception staff it would be impossible to
single out one of them as they were all A1. Rooms were spotless -nicely furnished bright and
airy.Restaurant was to be complimented on their food and service. We will certainly recommend
this hotel to our friends and we in turn look forward to our return there in the near future.B&K
Broderick Lucan

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear 'kay137',

We are sincerely thrilled to read your review. All of our reviews are communicated throughout the hotel and it is lovely to get such feedback as yours.

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to let us and others know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had my wedding in the Ardilaun hotel in August 2011 and it was excellent. All of my guests complimented the food (both for the function and the general restaurant / bar food menu as well as many of my guests stayed extra nights). The service was also excellent and friendly. The rooms were lovely too and the breakfast buffet had plenty to offer. I would not hesitate in recommending!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Marion & James,

Thank you so much for posting your review. We are absolutely delighted that you booked The Ardilaun for your most special day and it was our pleasure to work with you both in the planning stages.

Wishing you every happiness and a fun-filled life for your future together.

Don't forget to come back to visit us again!

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

i stayed at this hotel from 14th to 16th september 2011 and i found the hotel and staff one hundred per cent the rooms were lovly and lean and the hotel is up there at the top in ireland

Room Tip: all rooms are large and sunny and quite at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Patrick,

Sincere thanks for posting your review.

We really are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will have you back as our guest again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have just stayed here for last three days, I picked this Hotel because of the reviews, and I really can't see how they got so many good ones. My room was below standard and looked nothing like the 'standard' room that is on their web site.The walls were paper thin, and I could even hear next door putting on shower. The noise from outside the room was so bad,I think the cleaners station was right beside this room(213), was woken at 7am most mornings because of it.I think I could of just got a bad room as I spoke to other guests and their rooms seemed to be a lot nicer. The lamp didn't work, and the 'hot' water for the shower was a very mild warm, while the water for the bath was roasting. The hotel it self needs a good make over, the carpets along the corridors were in a shocking state, very shabby. The Food in bar was lovely and for food in restaurant was ok, menu not great.
Over all I can not see how this Hotel is a four star, it really only is a three star. Its an ok hotel, would choose others before going back here, but would stay here again if had to

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear 'tna12',

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for your subsequent review here on tripadvisor. As mentioned in previous review responses, feedback is very important to us and is certainly welcomed. Your comments have been addressed by each of the relevant departments.

Tripadvisor comments are very valued and we are happy that you used it as a decision making tool when booking your stay in Galway. Our hotel meets all standards to qualify for its four star rating. There is an annual inspection of the hotel by an external source to ensure that standards are met in line with the requirements for a four star rating. Our most recent inspection was during last week.

Guest comfort and service are included in the areas which we set very high standards for and aim to reach at all times.

It is correct and fair to say that room 213 is a room which is not to the standard of others in the hotel at the moment and I can confirm that this room is included in our Autumn 2011 refurbishment programme. While it has not yet been refurbished, the standard of cleanliness and maintenance meets our highest level. We have checked the lamp in the room and it is in perfect working order. The water temperature to the shower is also perfect - however, it must be turned on for a few minutes before becoming hot.

We apologise that your sleep was disturbed and are not quite sure what may have caused this disturbance. The accommodation staff begin duty at 07:30 each morning with initial focus on public areas which are located away from guest accommodation. This is specifically to ensure that guests are not disturbed at that time of the morning.

The walls between the bedrooms are solid concrete but the bathrooms for rooms 213 and 215 are backing onto each other so it may have been possible that you could hear the shower in the room next to you when you were in your own bathroom. Again, please accept our apologies should this have caused you any disturbance.

We feel that is would not be fair to say that the corridor carpets are in a 'shocking state'. While the carpet area you refer to (along corridor leading to room 213) is also included in the Autumn 2011 refurbishment programme, it is not currently 'shabby'.

We are delighted that you enjoyed dining with us - thank you. Food service and quality rate very highly - so much so that we are a regular popular venue for locals also.

Again, we thank you for booking with us. We would very much welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. Should you wish to book with us again, please do not hesitate to make a specific request for a most recently refurbished room or you would be welcome to upgrade to a superior room, deluxe room or suite if you would like to do so.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here in May and really enjoyed the hotel. Far from a downside we thought the traditional decor was very nice.

Breakfast was a buffet which always lends itself to being a little inconsistent but there was plenty of selection on offer. The best tip is to arrive early as after 8.30am it got pretty busy. This hotel had a number of bus tours visiting while we were there so seemed pretty busy.

The swimming pool is excellent, but requires guests to wear a swim cap - not sure why - they say its for hygiene purposes.

The beds are huge and very comfy, the location in a nice part of town and residential area mean it is very quiet at night so we slept really well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear 'Highland_Saint',

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in May. We are very grateful indeed that you did so and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your visit.

It is correct that it is essential for users of the pool to wear a swim cap - this is in line with hygiene standards and 'White Flag' regulations. 'White Flag' is a quality award for leisure facilities and we are delighted that we achieve standards each year to be awarded with this.

Thank you again and we would love to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future should you be visiting Galway.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ardilaun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.