We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Hotel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Harbour Hotel Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Docks Rd | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Harbour Hotel. We had a really long trip and we were happy to see a very friendly staff. The hotel has worm atmosphere and delicious food mhhh:) We felt almost like at home! and location is just perfect ,few minutes walk to main street -so I wasnt afraid that I' m gonne be lost.And thanks to girls from reception I could find a best clothes shops :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    350
    125
    45
    22
See reviews for
92
397
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Extremely clean hotel, rooms very comfortable and excellent located for everything you need to do and see in Galway. The staff were really friendly couldn't ask for better service I will be staying here everytime I visit Galway now.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Clairer25,

Thank you for posting up your comments from your last stay. You've said that we'll be your preferred hotel in Galway so that's a strong recommendation to get. I hope to see you soon in the City of Tribes.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed in this hotel recently on business.
Staff were very friendly and helpful at check in. I had food in the bar and it was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The bedrooms were nice and clean. The hotel is very well located in relation to the city centre - less than a five minute walk to Quay Street yet in a quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Rob83,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you had a really good experience with us, I also hope you did a nice piece of business on your travels. Lots of people use us for business because they can walk to sales calls from our front door as you can walk accross the whole city in centre in less than 10 minutes. Just worth pointing out from my side.

I hope that you will be in the area again soon and that you will choose to place your business with us when you are visiting the City of Tribes.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Hi There,
I stayed at this hotel for a few days in April 2010. I was part of a work party and we stayed mid week.
This was my expereince I was very happy both with the price, the location right in the heart of galway and the parking just under the hotel (on a pay basis)

While the hotel was a bit old fashioned ie the bathrooms could do with a upgrade the standard of cleaning was first class.

The staff for the most part were helpful and kind espeically the bedroom staff particularly Michael who was most obliging and went the extra mile to make our stay a plesent experience.

Our only negative note is the Head Receptionist was very loud and made me feel very unconfortable when checking in. She could do with a little training in interpersonal skills, but the other two girls were very plesant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Annette88_10,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Galway with us and I hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I visited Galway recently to carry out some business and also meet up with some friends. I was supposed to stay 2 nights at The harbour Hotel but had to leave after the first because I couldn’t stand the filth. What’s amazing is that I did tell the hotel staff the reason why I was leaving, I actually complained and still the hotel contacted my office a couple of days ago asking how was my stay. They said “I just wanted to touch base with you to see how Mr xxxxx enjoyed his stay and to see if there is anything else I can help you with.
Would you have a regular requirement for the Galway area? We would also have a hotel in Limerick and the Hilton in Kilmainham is also a sister hotel of ours. I would be happy to assist if we can be of use to you.
I look forward to hearing from you".

Below is an extract from an email I sent to the hotel in reply to their email.
===========================================================
Hi xxxxx
Your email was passed onto me to reply to you. I work on the road and I stay in hotels every week and am familiar with most of the hotels in Ireland, especially 4 star hotels and their facilities.
To be honest I had a terrible time at the Harbour Hotel as the staff couldn't find me a clean room.
I asked them to change my room soon after checking in as I presumed the first one hadn't been cleaned properly and they got me another room straight away.

The issues I had with the first room was it was dirty, it had a broken toilet seat, had stains on the mattress and mattress cover and basically hairs and dirt around the place.

The second room wasn't much better. Every one of the pillows in the room were worn and looked like they had been through a shredder. They were also covered in black hairs and to me that is just pure filth. The bathroom was also filthy, the broadband didn't work and even the remote control had scum, thick scum embedded around the numbers. The mattress also has stains on it which I found unreal.

The breakfast at the Harbour Hotel was also hilarious as there was staff walking around not knowing what to do and most of the metal trays that hold the food were empty. I couldn't` believe it.

I was supposed to stay the second night, the Saturday but actually cancelled the room as there was no way I was paying €140.00 for a filthy room. (That was the price quoted for the 2nd night) I moved to The xxxx Hotel nearby for the same price and what a difference.


The Harbour Hotel is barely a 3 star in my eyes and it is way overpriced and not worth the €109.00 that I paid for the 1st night and when I was asked to pay for the parking also well that was the last straw, the nightmare got worse.

I was so annoyed and still am to a certain degree as I was looking forward to that weekend for months and what a superb disappointment it was. That few minutes of checking into the hotel and room totally ruined my weekend and then I had to rise early next day and check out then find another hotel and parking. That's not what anyone wants to do when on a break.
What's most annoying was the fact that all my friends stayed at the xxxx xxxx Hotel for €50 a night each and told me all the rooms were spotless. I was originally booked in there but cancelled it for something a little more upmarket. Unreal.

To be honest The Harbour Hotel was probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and that’s the truth.

It obviously shows that by you sending an email about my stay that nothing gets reported back to you regarding "customer complaints". I did have words with the girl on the desk but it obviously went straight over her head plus I do not believe that I have been the first person to ever complain about the dirt.

No need to reply as there is no point.

Regards.

Note: The Harbour did not reply to me which is why I put up this review. I thought they would at least ask me if I wanted my money back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear The_Python,

Thank you for taking the time to list your comments on TripAdvisor. I had been in contact with you directly to pass on my sincere apologies but had not realised that your review was posted in advance. Whilst we are a 3 star hotel and not a four star hotel as you have commented, we still do take care of all hygiene issues. The points as listed in your original email have been addressed and we have some maintenance issues that we will have completed within a few short weeks. I am positive that if you were to give us another try, you would be so much happier with the quality of the hygiene services. Your mail has acted as a catalyst for change and it's important that the members of TripAdvisors community will understand that each items raised here has been dealt with in a systematic manner to ensure that future instances such as this will not arise.

Hygiene is a cornerstone of any successful hospitality business and whilst performance may have suffered from a temporary break from our normal levels - our standards have not changed. All cleanliness issues have already been addressed completely and a more systematic manner of dealing with each issue has been instated to prevent future occurrences.

As discussed - I really do appreciate the feedback provided. All businesses suffer from imperfection, good businesses face up to their failings, deal with the problems and become stronger for having done so.

Nearly all of our previous posted comments reflect satisfaction with our cleanliness and quality. Our recent problem was the exception rather than the rule.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Selected this hotel over many others in Galway city for a 2 night anniversary break and very much wish i hadn't! Nice looking hotel from the outside, reception, communal, function and dining areas all v modern but bedrooms and ensuites are not up to the same standard.
Reception was welcoming, staff friendly - though arent they all when theyre trying to get a booking - we hadnt pre-booked. We weren't informed upon check-in that car parking wasn't included in the price, so be prepared to pay this upon check-out.
And now for the faults,
Breakfast
Arrived down to breakfast at 9.20am breakfast due to finish at 10am
12 other people came down to breakfast after us
1 member of staff was present in the breakfast room
1. no one to greet you at breakfast, take your room number or offer tea/coffee/toast
2. no milk for cereal, 1 guest asked for milk 3 times
3. fruit salad was brown and tasted off
4.hot food was cold
5.v little hot food left and no one bothered to replenish any of it
6.elderly couple left standing at the bar with their breakfast beacuse any tables that were free hadn't been cleared of dirty dishes
7.v few yoghurts
8.no cranberry juice yet card showing it should be there
9.v v poor vegetarian options and no menu on table offering any other alternatives
10. no beans
11. no hash brown yet these are offered on the in room breakfast menu
Breakfast on the 2nd morning wasn't much better and that was after lodging a complaint!
Drinks in Bar
1. a ladies meeting was being held in the bar - should meetings not be held in conference rooms
2. fellow guests asked for ketchup and were told we dont have any left
Room
1. Avoid any rooms next to the stairwells if you want a nights sleep - several intoxicated people were up and down the stairwell at 3 in the morning and going out through the fire exit door into the carpark outside - health and safety issue here if fire doors are open and non paying residents have access to the hotel, defeats the purpose of having a key card to gain access to the lifts and stairs to bedrooms.
2.Towels in ensuite had stains on them
3.Bath dirty
If you do have to make a complaint whilst staying here good luck! Management doesn't give a hoot!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Honest25,

I had spoken with you on the day of your departure and a member of our senior management team had been addressing your various concerns throughout your stay. Whilst a number of your concerns are valid, I feel a lot of issues, not raised at the hotel have been added since your departure. Perhaps the goodwill discount offered was not to your satisfaction.

I have apologised to you in person and let me assure members of TripAdvisor that I had tried to resolve your concerns directly. Perhaps a more detailed conversation with a member of staff whilst with us could have resolved most of your concerns.

It's a pity that the first time you have used TripAdvisor was for a negative experience but I am glad that it has offered you an outlet for your comments. Other regular users of TripAdvisor have been quite satisfied with our services and value offered and I still have not lost hope that you will give us another try, to see that your valid comments have each been addressed.

Once again, I am terribly sorry that you did not have a more pleasurable time with us. Perhaps if you are visiting the area again, you could contact me directly so that I could earn back your confidence in our product and service. I find the comment that "Management doesn't give a hoot" to be distasteful and wholy inaccurate, but I would be very grateful of the opportunity to prove through actions rather than words the sincerity of my commitment to use the comments from the TripAdvisor community to make our business better for our clients.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April. My wife uses an electric wheelchair which worked very well in this hiotel.

When we had car trouble Trish and Marie at the front desk immediately phoned for assistance and we had our luggage and car taken care in no time.

Other staff that were extremely helful during our stay were Christine and Sebastion. No matter what we needed they were ready to assist. The hotel is centrally located and very nice. Great location base your stay in this area. Very safte. Would certainily stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHotelGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Mmurphy_Iowa,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in Galway. I have passed on your praise to the team members that you have highlighted and they were most appreciative of your kindness. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that you can make the return trip to Ireland to see us again.

Kind regards,

Geoff Kinsella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Docks Rd | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip.All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities. Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel and free Wi-Fi throughout. The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour BAr & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.