We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Harbour Hotel Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Docks Rd | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Family stay for one Sunday night, price was good although parking cost an extra 5 euro. Room was a good size and comfortable beds although band playing until midnight could be heard through the window. It appears to be more suited to corporate stays than families but great location and easy walk to Galway city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    350
    125
    45
    22
See reviews for
92
397
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last weekend with 10 of my friends for a girls weekend away. There was 3 of us to a room and fit the 3 of us no problem the beds were very comfortable and the room as a ok size. If I was to complain about anything the bathroom was quite small but that's just me nitpicking. Breakfast was served up till 11am and that extra hour makes a big difference in the morning. The breakfast was fab, it was self service so u could get as much as u wanted and still go back for more. Staff were lovely also and helped with anything we requested. Would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to be close to eveything as its only 5'min walk from shop street...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Had a steak at bar first night, not bad, no great. Room fine, staff efficient and friendly.
Breakfast self- service, pretty average.... But loud 80's music in dining room, bit over the top until I realised why. Every 3 or 4 tracks this was interspersed with loud ads for hotel services, Sunday lunch, special offers etc. When I am having breakfast I do not want to listen to this stuff!
Bar a bit expensive too.
Won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The reception in hotel was well staffed and very friendly. The room was lovely and amazing service in the bar. The staff were all very helpful and really interested In making sure we had a great night.

Room Tip: Great views of the harbour! Park in the hotel car park as its free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed two nights here at the beginning of our trip. The place is beautifully decorated and the staff was very accommodating. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and I will tell you the food was delicious. The biggest issue was we were away from everything. This hotel was offered as a free upgrade by our travel agent for booking and paying early but I would have rather they had left us in the heart of town where we originally wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Laurie R,
Thank you for your review.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our food in particular as all our dishes are now homemade from sauces to desserts.
We are located right next to the Harbour which means we are away from the city centre noise but yet within a 5 minute walk to all attractions of the city.
I do hope that we get to see you soon again.
Warm Regards,
Stefan Lundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and hard working. Very cleanly and warm hotel. Reasonably priced drinks and gorgeous breakfast prepared in the morning. The hotel is situated in a ideal place - 5minute walk from shop street without all the hassel of traffic lights. The rooms were warm, clean and equipped with iron,ironing board, trousers press, hair drier,tv with watch-able channels. My only fault with my room was that the windows were quite temperamental but other than that, I found it to be a lovely hotel! I would stay here again most definitely! -thank you staff of the harbour hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Olivia,
Thank you very much for your review.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Harbour and i look forward to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.
Warm Regards,
Stefan Lundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited this hotel with my friend over the long weekend. The management and staff were absolutely appalling and the treatment we received was nothing short of ignorance. The worst customer experience ever, as for Kevin the manager, a disgrace! I will never ever visit this establishment again, the service, the bill and the manner with which it was presented and explained, extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Richelle,
I am disapointed in reading your review of our Hotel and Kevin our Receptionist.
I feel it is unfair as i do not know what we did wrong,however i would appreciate if you would contact myself directly on stefan@harbour.ie
Warm regards,
Stefan Lundstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Docks Rd | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip.All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities. Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel and free Wi-Fi throughout. The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour BAr & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.