We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, gluten free menu options, good music, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwells Restaurant

Maxwells Restaurant
14 Williamsgate Street, Galway PPS, Ireland
091 568974
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 355 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, gluten free menu options, good music, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Simple and very tasty food. The seafood chowder was just perfect. I also recommend the Galway Bay salmon and the goat cheese salad with roasted beetroot and nuts. Nice, clean and simple interior. Very friendly and helpfull staff. We paid 80 euro between 4 people. Good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    76
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I visited Maxwell's for breakfast once. The restaurant is clean and well presented. There were newspapers on offer and the breakfast menu is reasonably varied.

The full Irish breakfast I had was adequate but not particularly good, the portion sizes being rather small. Also they were apparently out of fresh orange juice, not a great failing but slightly surprising given the size of the restaurant. The staff were not especially helpful or attentive.

I might try coming here again for dinner with friends but then again there are other options in Galway.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very clean well layed out restaurant with excellent service,great selection of fresh food and really helpful friendly staff....5*

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a recent visit to Galway we had a really lovely meal and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Both my sister and myself had the Fish Pie which was to die for. Staff very friendly specially to my poor mum who wasn't feeling the best and ended up having a lovely bowl of Mash. Excellent food and value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value & food but service could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had lunch there with a friend recently. I ordered the lunch special which was seafood chowder, gourmet sandwich ,tea/coffee with a small dessert which was very nice! Although the food was very tasty and good for value, I think the service could have been better. We were waiting for our order to be taken for around 10 mins and we thought the waitress could be a little bit friendlier. The atmosphere is nice in there too.

I will definitely come back and will recommend this restaurant to others!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwells2, Owner at Maxwells Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. The €10 lunch Combo is very popular with all our customers. We are concious that time is precious at lunch so sorry we left you waiting when you came in first.

Kind Regards

Paul O' Meara
Prop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells Restaurant also viewed

 
Tipperary, County Tipperary
 

Been to Maxwells Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwells Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.