We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip with fun, informative guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway Adventure Tours of Galway

Segway Adventure Tours of Galway
The Garden of Jurys Inn Hotel | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Hotel)
086 2286239
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on a fun-filled guided Segway Adventures Tour of Galway City on board one of our hi-tech Segway Personal Transporters. This is undoubtably the most exciting, fun and coolest ways to explore this historic and vibrant city. It's so easy to master the Segway that within minutes you will be gilding with confidence. You'll leave No Carbon Footprint, No Aches and Pains just wonderful memories and friends along the way.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip with fun, informative guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I meant to put this review up a few months ago when I did this trip in Galway in June. I have since been on another Segway tour in the US and it didn't compare to how good the owner John O'Reilly ran his tour. There was meant to be 4 in my group, but 2 others couldn't make it. It didn't matter to John. He took the two of us out on the machines, taught us inside 5-10 mins everything to know & we went on a tour that he extended by half an hour. The guy even stopped to buy us ice-creams...what a legend. Great craic and a friendly, informative guide. Keep it up!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnavan, Owner at Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hey Dale,

Thanks so much for your kind review and lovely compliments.
I'm glad you had so much fun when you visited us in Galway.
We'd love to see you again, next time you visit Ireland.

Athbhliain faoi mhaise duit!

Best Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend did the tour about a week ago and it's great craic. well worth it and would highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnavan, Owner at Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hey Dave,

Thanks for your king review.

We're glad you had great craic on your recent segway tour in Galway.

We look forward to seeing you in Galway again soon.

Best Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
“Walking now seems like a chore!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have just come back from a couple of days in Galway.... tried segwaying on Friday... was a bit allergic to the thought at first but must admit it was the highlight of my holiday.....
John our tour guide was really fun... he even treated us to ice cream! Only took a couple of minutes to get the hang of the segway..... highly recommend the salt hill tour. Only downfall was when we had to get off them and use our legs again!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnavan, Owner at Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Catherine,

Thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review of your Salthill Segway Fun-Glide Experience.

Love your review. Only downfall is that you're going to cost me a fortune in ice-creams now:-)

Best Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Best fun u can have with your clothes on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent fun would tell any 1 to try it,John the instructor is great does not mind if u are thick or slow,he is very patient with u.u will not regret it just brill.but take the hour and half tour,u will not want to get off them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnavan, Owner at Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Stephen,

We're glad you and the guys had so much fun.

Who said you need your clothes on, on a Segway to have so much fun?... Mind you, it only happens once in a "Blue Moon"
(explaination in our photo gallery on fb page:- "Segway Tours Galway" :-)

I look forward to seeing you again soon in Galway or perhaps Limerick??

Best Regards,
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Broken Segway but good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked in for a group of 8 of us to do the salt hill promenade segway tour. Unfortunately some segways were broken so we could only go out in 2 groups of 4, I cancelled the tour on the morning we were due to go as unfortunately we were only contacted by John that morning. We decided to cancel the tour as going out in 2 separate groups would not have been the same. Although it was a shame we didn't use the Segway, John refunded my money the following week and also sent me complimentary tickets which was a lovely gesture. All in all, good customer service!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnavan, Owner at Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Cari,

Thanks for your genuine and kind review.

Two Segways did indeed break down on the morning of your proposed Segway Tour which unfortunately resulted in your cancellation of your tour activity.

Some of our segway fleet were already committed to a Segway Polo Event in Carrick-on-Shannon on the same morning, while the remainder of our fleet were two segway's short of being able to take your group our in one tour because of these break-downs.

We completely understand your disappointment and subsequent cancellation of your segway activity because you could neither reschedule your activity nor did you wish to split up your group as suggested by us.

We also trust that our timely refund to you of 110% of your initial tour fee was accepted as a gesture of goodwill by way of an apology and in the spirit of our commitment and guarantee of good service to our customers.

We hope you take up our complimentary offer and re-visit Ireland and Segway Adventures again in the near future and we really look forward to seeing a return visit to Galway soon.

Best Regards,
John O'Reilly
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway Adventure Tours of Galway also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Segway Adventure Tours of Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway Adventure Tours of Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.