We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Galleon Restaurant

The Galleon Restaurant
210 Upper Salthill | Galway, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 522963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 329 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Blending the tradition of the old with a feeling for the new, the Galleon has been serving 5 million satisfied customers ever since it opened 45 years ago.An institution in Salthill, it takes pride in its friendly, experienced staff and its newly refurbished premises, to offer you an exceptional dining experience.With our extensive menu, we have something for everyone, be it a fussy child, a meat lover or a gourmet eater with a refined taste. Our scrumptious selection of food includes hearty meats, delicate fish, light salads, creamy pasta and indulgent desserts. We also have gluten- free options for coeliacs and vegetarian specialities.We keep our young guest entertained with crayons and pictures to colour in, while their parents enjoy a relaxing three-course meal. We also cater for parties of up to 30 people in our devoted function room. Whether you come for leisure, to enjoy a tea and scone with friends, or for work, to avail of our free high-speed Wifi.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Nothing overly exciting but nothing bad either!
It good food at reasonable prices! More of a family place then date night material. But worth a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    129
    40
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Was delighted with this spot got two 3 courses and coffee for under €50. Very good. People were friendly. I got the hake, was mint. Just everything is good about this place. Service was good. Atmosphere was good. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

have eaten in here a few times, each time the food and service was top notch. Caters for gluten free options and they are clearly laid out. price range is very good also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Roasts are the Highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a good restaurant any day of the week, but the highlight are the Sunday roasts. Reasonably priced, good quality, and good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always busy here. This is a good sign.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate lunch here last weekend.
I had delicious lasagne with chips & my husband had the beer battered cod & chips.
The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere.
Food lovely & fresh.
Great selection.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galleon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Galleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galleon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.