We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Galway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Tart Company

Gourmet Tart Company
Opposite Salthill Church | Salthill, Galway 1111, Ireland
+353 91 861 667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 355 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Galway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have always loved the Galway Tart Co shops in Galway, but this was our first visit to the restaurant in Salt Hill. I only wish we had found it earlier! The staff are wonderful – very friendly, helpful and efficient. The coffee is marvellous and the sweet items are scrumptious! We had the three chocolate mousse and also sampled the danishes – all superb. We plan to go back very soon for a full meal. There is a lovely continental atmosphere – it was almost like being back in Vienna! Very relaxed, pleasant ambience. World class!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    123
    49
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Four of us went to the gourmet tart restaurant very recently and were absolutely amazed that any restaurant could offer such top food for the price. The choice, the presentation, the taste and the cost were unbelieveable. We were glutons and had all 4 courses but certainly didnt need them as we were full after main course. . One of my friends couldnt eat the desert so was offered a desert to take home. This was presented to her on leaving - a lovely gesture. Its a completly new dining experience for Galway. much needed and welcome. Well done to the Gourmet Tart Team.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night, great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I recently had Dinner with friends in this Restaurant and had a great night from beginning to end. We reserved table for 8.00p.m., arrived a little early but statt were so accommodating. All of us enjoyed the food thoroughly (best I have been to in Galway, as I eat out a lot). Service was excellent throughout and our Waitress/Waiter made sure we had everything we needed.

Wine Menu was reasonably priced which meant we could afford a bottle each!!!

I would have no hesitation in recommending this Restaurant as it is one of the best I have been to. Value for money is excellent and the staff gave a great/pleasant service.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in Salthill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We are here 3 times during our weeks holiday in Salthill. We also bought bread and cakes here during the week. The food is excellent, resonable prices and fantastic service. We had breakfast here on our last day, their bread is simply yummy. The only minus is that it is noisy when there are a lot of people there. Something to dampen the sound would be good

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“it was just horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We didn't like it at all, seemed the staff didn't know what they were at, the food was tasteless, wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleod, Owner at Gourmet Tart Company, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Galwaylad, I am very disappointed to hear that you were not happy at all with our restaurant. Neither the food, the service, nor the value impressed you. I would love to get a few more details from you - what you ate and what the staff did (or didn't do). I'd really appreciate it if you'd reply to me because the review has attracted alot of comments on our facebook page and I'd like to be able to address it properly. We are a small family business and we work extremely hard 7 days a week. It is great to get good reviews but unfortunately it is the bad ones that stick in our heads. I can see that you joined Trip Advisor especially to write the review and therefore you feel strongly about the matter. A bit of extra information would be much appreciated so that we can work to avoid such situations in the future. Thank you very much, Michelle Hyland, owner, Gourmet Tart Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Tart Company also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Gourmet Tart Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Tart Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.