We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Atmosphere, Beer, Liquor, Cider, Locals, Music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane

The Crane
2 Sea Road, Galway, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 356 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish
Description: Pub with real traditional, non-tourist, Irish session music.
Restaurant details
Description: Pub with real traditional, non-tourist, Irish session music.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pub Atmosphere, Beer, Liquor, Cider, Locals, Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This really shouldn't be classified as a restaurant because the only food offered are bags of peanuts (salted, unsalted). If you want to get away from Galway Center and all the tourists and general commotion found there, then you must find The Crane.
There’s a small bar on the first floor and a stage area on the second floor where formal bands play. At the time I visited it I was the only tourist inside. It wasn’t long before conversations were engaged with folks sitting on both sides of me. Friendliness is the keyword for this place. There’s also a good chance that some of the fellows will have brought their instruments and there will be much singing and playing going on at one of the tables in the first floor bar. If a song is a particularly sentimental one the people talking will be asked to be quiet.
I strongly encourage visitors of Galway to find The Crane.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villach, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Time for Sessions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A Pub with ambiance! Even before the Session (that is in the first floor - don't go there before the Session stars- it will be locked- so at about 9.30) it was amazing how history seemed to crawl in, Later we joined the session and it was a warm welcome evenif we hardly knew anyone. The musicians came from all over Europe. Italy, Spain, Austria, there where even some irish ones...
Actually there where a lot. And it was a real session with all that a Session needs. Deffinatly a place to come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited here on the recommendation of a local girl I was chatting to in a small café that morning. Not disappointed. Great craic and great music. Mostly trad the night I was there with the odd song and dance. Not much room upstairs which adds to the real “Irish atmosphere”.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Music and a Lovely Pint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The server at the Quey Street Kitchen recommended the Crane for music and local flavor. What a treat , more than 20 musicians raising the roof! Musician sit facing each other at a long table with people joining and leaving as they feel. The music is upstairs with a quiet pub on the ground floor. We couldn't leave, the music and vibe were that good . Don't miss the Crane for a pint and a tune!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Pub for Trad music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went here because it was recommended to us by Emer at the Kilcullen House B&B. It is a good local pub with great traditional Irish music sessions. The music is upstairs. The night we were there, there were seven musicians, an a cappella singer and traditional Irish dancing. The Crane proved to be the best musical session we saw on our trip to Ireland!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crane also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Crane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.