We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fat Freddys - Galway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Freddy's

Fat Freddy's
10 Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
(091) 567279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 354 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, International, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fat Freddys - Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had lunch here recently with my two children. As it was a sunny day, we ate outside and the atmosphere was really nice. Just sitting, people watching and having a glass of red in the afternoon. Food very tasty. Atmosphere very relaxing. Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    85
    44
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“v good but it has lost something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

it has been tarted up this year and i think it has lost something i cant put my finger on it but still a nice place to eat

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Visited for lunch after seeing the menu outside. Quaint place athough would be a bit of a squash if it was full. The food was really good (apart from the garlic bread which was burnt) and great value.The staff were friendly and helpful although slow to come and take our order. Once the food was ordered we didn't have to wait long. I was given brown sugar instead of white with my tea which is only a minor problem but something that the staff should be aware of. Overall we liked it and would return

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sheer Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food & the service here are legendary. We went here on a recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed. Always a good sign when it's so busy you have to wait for a seat. Staff were friendly & helpful. Only downside is that is can be a little bit squashy but in the miserable cold Irish weather this could be a bonus ;-)
Try it. You won't be disappointed

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and fantastic outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food at Fat Freddys was good, but we picked the restaurant specifically for its outdoor seating on lively quay street. Most of the restaurants on the street offer outdoor seating, so the atmosphere may not have been unique to Freddys but it made the night nonetheless. The Mexican food on the menu was good but not great. The pizzas were very good with fresh ingredients and flavors. Price was a good value as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Fat Freddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Freddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.