We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the time to stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claire's Tearooms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Claire's Tearooms
The Old Stone House | Clarinbridge, Galway Eire, Ireland
00353-91-776606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Galway
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Coffee Shop, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Old world charm in the heart of Clarinbridge...Claire's Tearooms provides breakfasts and lunches in a cosy, intimate setting. Enjoy a leisurely meal or a cup of tea from our vintage china teasets. We also open a monthly supper club and are available for private functions or outside catering.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take the time to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have stopped at Claires on a number of occasions and are never disappointed. There is always lovely homemade soup that is a meal in itself. There is a good range of sandwiches on a variety of tasty breads. The tea is real tea that requires a strainer - much better then the ubiquitous teabags. Not having a sweet tooth I can't comment on the range of fresh and home cooked looking cakes and desserts. However I am assured that they are wonderful. Claires is a great place the break the north/south drive in the west of Ireland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Little gem on the Galway/Ennis road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great drop in spot on our journey south. I love the atmosphere created in this little place and the mismatch of tea cups is beautiful. My dad loved the it was real tea made with tea leaves. The soup was beautiful and the apple crumble was delicious. Would definitely recommend and will be popping in again when I pass.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an old fashioned tearoom not a restaurant. Atmosphere great, old fashioned tearoom with fine bone china. All homemade cakes, hot breakfast was lovely, lunch looked great. There was a great choice of homemade cakes to chose from and all looked great. Lovely old building with a spa upstairs if you wanted to do a spa day. I would rate this as probably the best lunch/brunch I have had out for a long time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Co. Mayo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visited Calire's tea rooms last week and must have hit on a bad day! We had soup and a panini.

There may have been an issue in the kitchen but we had a long wait with nothing in the way of an explanation. The diners at a nearby table, who arrived after us were served before us! Our soup was very nice but run-of-the-mill potato and leek soup. The waitress was courteous..

We thought the meal was over priced by comparison to other eateries of this style, I actually thought we had been over charged but, not so! We left a bit disgruntled and disappointed. so, check the prices before you order...- we didn't! We would have had a more satisfying meal had we had main course lunch but we didn't feel hungry enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Claire is too modest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's called a tearooms but heavens above, that must be the understatement of the century. It is a restaurant with a super book shop upstairs and a gift shop adjoining. Two visits there in July confirmed the excellence I found last year - ask for a tian of crab and you will get the most spectacularly fresh and tasty crab meat ever - and it wil be served with an amazing variety of salad leaves and terrific brown bread. Weaken and look at the dessert menu - or turn at look at them all in their creamy splendour, and you'll find the taste matches the appearance. On colder days (and not this summer), I have relished their homemade soups. Why am I so rarely near Galway? I'm going to try to change that because this place is wonderful. Bought their brown bread to take away and bought books upstairs too. I know you'll love it too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claire's Tearooms also viewed

 

Been to Claire's Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claire's Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.