We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner for a big group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirby's of Galway

Kirby's of Galway
Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
0035391569404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 328 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kirbys offer a relaxed dining experience in modern surrounds. Savour the best of local produce cooked with a modern twist. An extensive wine list is available with and emphasis on New World wines. Assured of a warm and friendly welcome and value for money, Kirbys is the ideal venue for a night out with friends or when celebrating that special occasion. Kirbys also caters for Corporate lunches and dinners as well as Christmas parties. A variety of seating arrangements are available from Banquette seating to smaller tables for more intimate dining, muted lighting and walnut and cream tones create and inviting and relaxing dining experience.
Düsseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great dinner for a big group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our dinner for 13 people at Kirby’s was great. The menu was varied and great value. There was a good “buzz” in the restaurant, but service was fast and efficient and very friendly. Despite this, we weren’t rushed with the food. We especially liked the venison and the duck!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently myself and two friends dined in Kirbys and found the whole experience excellent. The food was superb a large choice on the menu and the their dining options are so so reasionable. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, great value, top class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited Kirbys Wednesday just gone (6th) after a friend recommended it. We were in Galway for two nights so we decided to go for dinner here. The menu was very enticing with plenty of options and very good value for the quality of food that you get.there was beautiful fresh bread ( brown and white) served before starters. I had the crab meat served with black pudding and side salad, delicious! I then had the strip lone steak for main course with all the trimmings again delicious with a very high quality meat used. My fiancé had a warm chicken salad for starter and the mussels for his main course which he thoroughly enjoyed. After working in the Catering industry for over 6 years I find I am very observant when it comes to service. I have to say the two girls who served us were fantastic there is nothing I could say negative about both waitresses. They were so welcoming and friendly and went out of there way to stay and chat to us and also checked on us during each course. They are defiantly a reason why i will be returning, along with the food of course. Thanks to all at kirbys and especially the two girls who were serving us, it was such a nice atmosphere to be in when staff are professional and friendly. Thanks again, lorraine

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Went her with 2 friends last sat night and it was a lovely meal. Waitress was pleasant and a cosy atmosphere. Only gripe I have is that there weren't a lot of things on the menu to tempt me. Will go back tho

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante & Plymouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not the same!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My partner and I went here 2 years previously, and absolutely loved it, we went again, and found it very disappointing.
The menu was completely different, I expect changes, but not to this extent!
I struggled to pick from the menu, and paid quite a bit of money for a meal neither of us really enjoyed.
The staff are great, but unfortunately for us, the meal certainly was not.
The portions are small, and not very exciting, imo.
Will be checking the menu carefully before going there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Lydon_SweeneyGroup, Public Relations Manager at Kirby's of Galway, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear CJH1960,

I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your memories on your second visit. But thank you for taking the time to review Kirby's and rest assured you comments will be taken on board.

Difficult as it is to please everybody all the time, we realise it is important to create a range of dishes to accommodate every tastebud.

Our menus will be changing again in September for the coming Autumn/Winter season and I hope you will return and let us try impress you.

Regards,

Laura Lydon
Busker Brownes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby's of Galway also viewed

 

Been to Kirby's of Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirby's of Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.