We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jameson Court Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jameson Court Apartments to your Saves list
Jameson Court Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   173 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€390 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed in Jameson Court apartments with my 3 kids this year rather then going abroad. We had a wonderful holiday. The apartment was beautiful. We paid a little extra to stay in the penthouse but it was worth it. The apartments itself was spacious and beautifully decorated. We had a beautiful view of the beach from the balcony. We were very lucky the weather was beautiful so were had our meals on the balcony pretty much every night. Staff were helpful and friendly. I would definately recomment Jameson Court and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Apartments on upper floors have a view of the beach whereas lower floor apartments view is blocked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesonCourt, Staff Member at Jameson Court Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We here at Jameson Court Apartments are so glad to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to comment so kindly about your break with us. We are thrilled that you were happy staying in the Penthouse apartment and that you were able to avail of the extra space and excellent views that come with staying in the Penthouse on the top floor of our complex. When we have a family stay that have children we are always heartened to hear that they enjoyed themselves as we try and make the stay for children as enjoyable as possible. We have a play ground on site, bicycles which can be borrowed, colouring books and DVDs for the whole family. We are also located close to a number of family friendly amenities including a swimming pool, aquarium and a large public playground. We hope to see you again at Jameson Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the only place we were staying two nights and we were glad we were. The apartment was very nice, nicely decorated. We had a beautiful view and would recommend paying the little extra amount to get the view. Elaine was great and we had to keep bugging her because we arrived much later than expected but they provided great directions on how to get in. This is also a great location for walking along the water or walking into the town of Galway. The only complaint I had was the dryer took forever and I forgot to mention it to them but everything else was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an apartment here for two nights at the end of June. I booked a one-bed apartment, but upon arriving, discovered we had been upgraded to a two-bed. It was large, clean and tastefully decorated. Two good-sized bedrooms with wardrobes, one main bathroom with bath and shower, and an en-suite shower room (it was very novel having a bathroom each!), a comfortable lounge with a view of the sea and two purple swivel chairs that I wanted to take home, a laundry cupboard with washer and dryer, a small balcony, and a nicely-appointed kitchen with crockery, cutlery, and the all-important bottle opener. There was even a bottle of milk and a packet of biscuits waiting for us. We couldn't have asked for more.

As others have said, it's a 15-20 minute walk into Galway city, with the longer route being very picturesque, and the shorter route through quiet, neat streets. If you take the shorter route, pop into the Cottage Bar for some lovely Galway Bay Brewery ale.

Check-in and out were both quick and efficient, and the staff all seemed pleasant.

I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Galway, and will recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet haven from the Saturday night revelry in the city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our two bed room apartment was modern, spacious and clean. The bedrooms were a good size with a nice ensuite. There is also a second bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a dishwasher and washing machine too. It is centrally located near the beach and there are many restaurants and shops around. The car park is free and secure. Wifi is also free. Elaine was most helpful and friendly. Thanks for a great stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Galway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great self-catering apartment to use as a base place when visiting other places in the area. Clean and quiet. Perfect for families. some shopping/restaurants in walking distance. Had a view of the harbor, which was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

These apartments are located about 15 minutes walk from Galway city centre, in Salthill village. The apartments are great. Modern, clean and with all the necessities for a very comfortable stay. 

We were emailed directions and codes for entry to the car park and on arrival were shown through the apartment and also how to use the facilities. 

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which had a big balcony overlooking the main street of Salthill. Fantastic for people watching while having a drink. There were also two bathrooms (one en-suite) which for 4 adults, was much appreciated. The washing machine and dryer also came in very handy after having been traveling for 4 weeks. 

There was a starter pack of basic supplies provided such as tea, coffee, milk & sugar, (special thanks for the chocolate biscuits) as well as the usual dish washing detergent, dishwasher tablets, washing powder etc. 

There is a local bus into Galway right on the doorstep, as is the taxi rank. There are also plenty of eateries nearby and a supermarket across the road. The beach is within easy walking distance.

Had a great stay here and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Apartment 23 had the big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the 2-bedroom sea-view apartment over the weekend, and we love it! The apartment itself is clean, bright, spacious and extremely well-equipped with everything you would need. Its location in Salthill is incredibly beautiful (overseeing the Salthill Promenade) and incredibly convenient at the same time (due to numerous food options in the area). It is a 5-10 minutes drive to Galway city centre, and a taxi ride would just cost around 8 euros.

Elaine (the host) was super friendly and helpful, and gave the best recommendations! We enjoyed the day tour to Cliffs of Moher & The Burren mountains very much (the bus picked us up at the information centre next to the apartment!), and the restaurants she recommended were excellent! We had a slightly later check-out and could continue to park our car at the underground car park after we checked out.

I cannot think of a better place to stay at if you're heading to Galway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jameson Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Court Apartments

Address: 173 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jameson Court Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious apartments right in the centre of Salthill Village offering the guest all the luxury of a hotel but with a full kitchen and living space gaining you more space to relax. There is a choice of one bed, two bedroom and penthouse apartments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Jameson Court Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jameson Court Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.