We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lohans Cafe Bar Restaurant

Lohans Cafe Bar Restaurant
232-234 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland
091 522696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 338 restaurants in Galway
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Concord, MA, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a classic "pub and pub food" restaurant. It was a short walk from our B&B (and recommended), and so we went our first night. It perfectly suited what we needed after a long flight and a long drive. Guinness, fish and chips, salmon, and all the things you think about when you think "Irish food." Before we left, a lot of people said "Irish food isn't good." Lohan's was our first indication that they must have been eating in the wrong places.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    143
    73
    24
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I am a young chef with plenty of experience, so everything was being watched, I ordered the fish and chips my boyfriend ordered the bacon and cabbage.
the waitresses were lovely chatting and asking if everything was ok etc...
I timed the food (as a chef this is a habbit) the food took 20mins and the restaurant was very busy so this was excellent.

The fish and chips were lovely the fish just melts in your mouth same for the bacon I loved both.

The only thing I can fault lohans on was no tarter sauce with my fish and chips but once I asked for some they got it for me.

Brilliant food and staff I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“nice food but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

very slow service and it was quiet when we visited. waitress was extremely unhelpful even with basic things such as telling us or showing us where highchairs were even though we did ask we had to go look around and found them inside the main doors for the toilets.
food was nice no complaints there! the waitress that served us food was alot nicer and the lady behind the bar we paid was also friendly.
The waiting times to give our order - apx 30 mins just to give our order would put me off going back especially with 3 hungry young kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hen party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited as part of a friends hen party. The owner was lovely and recommended wine. Great deal on food. Very impressed with staff and I watch closely as an ex waitress. Very good value. Atmosphere is nice to start in before heading into galway

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

great food and reasonably priced, the staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble great place toenjoy a meal

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lohans Cafe Bar Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Lohans Cafe Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lohans Cafe Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.