We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galway Races” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desota House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Galway Races”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Me and a friend recently stayed at this b and b! It has a perfect location. so close to the centre of town. The room we stayed in was amazing. We were provided with a fridge and a personal safe which was excellent! although it was a little on the expensive side but that was to be expected for race week! if i was going back to galway i would def stay here. oh breakfast was amazing too and the lady that checked us in was really hepful giving us a map of galway city. They also obliged to store our bags after we had checked out so we could go shopping and didnt have to carry them with us! Def worth a stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
55
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 for a two night weekend break. Galway was very busy that weekend so we ended up paying top dollar for this quite average B&B. On arrival we were shown to our room (Room 5) which turned out to be extremely small. The en-suite "bathroom" is barely the size of a wardrobe. In fairness the manager on duty for the weekend accommodated our request to change rooms the next day, so we got a much bigger room for our second night. The location is hand for town and or the university and the free car parking is an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I and our teenage daughters recently stayed at the Desota House B&B. It was within walking distance to the city centre, restaurants, etc. The rooms were clean and although they aren't large, they are fine if you are just planning on sleeping and bathing. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful in providing directions to places we wanted to see. One outstanding recommendation was to go to the local pub called Cookes Thatch Bar - the music was great! The only small complaint I had was that the hair dryer they provided wouldn't stay on without holding down the "on" button--just a small irritation. I'd also point out that they only provide body wash, no shampoo or lotion. The also don't provide wash cloths, which I guess is common.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked this b&b last minute and were unable to make our trip due to an injury. When we called to sort it all out they demanded the full price even though we were not staying and had booked the night previously. They were incredibly rude about it all. I'm pleased to say we couldn't go as when we spoke with the owner, Ray, he mentioned that they continually had relatives of the recently deceased staying with them due to the fact that they were 5 mins away from the hospital. I have no qualms with this but feel it should be mentioned in their advertisement. As a young couple going for a fun night out in Galway city this was incredibly off putting. We booked through booking.com and they tried to sort it all out for us. After speaking with them we were told the b&b's do not in fact pay a penny to advertise, yet Ray said that they would be charged regardless from booking.com.(a ploy to make us feel responsible!) Booking.com called us back within 30 minutes saying that the owner ray would be calling us to sort it out. No call, and two days later an e-mail saying we didn't attend and demanding the price yet again. Needless to say we will not be re-booking with this particular place again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Desota, and was very pleased. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and there was even a mini-fridge. This was a nice little extra for someone who was travelling for a couple of weeks and wanted to have something other than restaurant or junk food. I was travelling by bus and needed to take a taxi from the bus station, but without my suitcase it wasn't a long walk into the downtown area. I would recommend the Desota to friends and family who are travelling to Galway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

When our plans changed unexpectedly, we were in Galway for the night with no place to stay. I called this B&B at 10pm, and while the owner was closing up and leaving for the evening, he was kind enough to leave us a key and instructions at the front door. The house has been restored and has a lovely updated interior. Our double room (#6) was on the second floor and had a great bathroom with a large shower with lots of hot water! There was a television in our room, tea making facilities, and a desk. There was also wireless internet throughout, including in our room. The bed was also very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was great--a full breakfast (including cereals, yogurts, breads, fruits, tea, coffee, and juices) with 4 different cooked choices to choose from, including a vegetarian option, and a full or half Irish breakfast. The location is also a short walk to NUIG (the local university). I would definitely stay here without any hesitation in the future. Finally, I thought the price was very reasonable for two people including breakfast--it was half the price of the local 4 star hotel in Eyre Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed in Desota house just for one night in January and it was lovely! When I booked it I thought it would be just another B&B with old furniture and cheap price. But just when I arrived I realised how modern and well equipped it was. It seems like it has been refubished recently. Everything is kept great conditions. The room, the toilet, the whole house in general is nice, clean, neat and really cosy. The heating was on at all times so it was great to feel warm after experiencing the cold and wet Irish weather.

The location is unbeatable. Right beside the University and the Hospital, literally five minutes walk to the Cathedral. In a busy but quiet road. With a few take aways, pubs, and local shops right beside it. Ideal for people who want to be in a quiet area that is surrounded by all kind of amenties and within walking distance to the city centre.

There is also wifi and a computer complimentary for all the guests. I thought it was a great idea as most B&Bs don't really have that option at all.

The breakfast room was lovely too. There were several options for breakfast, cooked breakfast or a kind of "help yourself" section with cereal, fruit, yoghurts, juice, different types of bread, etc.

I just loved it and taking into account I only payed 45 euro I was not expecting so many things. Many other B&Bs would charge you 20 euro more and wouldn't have so many things on offer.

The only negative point (well, not so negative) that I could find is that breakfast is only served from 8.30 to 9.30. Many other places have one hour and half or even too it felt like I had to rush a little. But anyway, it's not such a big deal, I guess that there is no point to serve breakfast for two hours when the house has only 10 rooms and there's not that many people staying.

All in all, my short stay in Desota House. Simple B&B but modern, clean and neat. Very good value for money! I would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desota House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desota House Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located, a scenic 5 minute walk from the centre of Galway City. All our rooms are ensuite and you can expect a comfortable stay in our property. We are located within 5 minutes walk from National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) and University College Hospital Galway (UCHG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Desota House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desota House Hotel Galway
Desota House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desota House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.