We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B & B with beautiful furnishings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Desota House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top B & B with beautiful furnishings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We've stayed in plenty of B & Bs over the past couple of months, and this one would have to be one of the best. We had a beautiful double room at the front of the house, which was very clean and stylishly decorated - bed extremely comfortable (a rarity!). Wireless internet was included, and we were encouraged to use their printer for our boarding passes for the next day - much appreciated! There was a fantastic selection at breakfast, with the option of a traditional cooked breaky, or toast, cereals, fruit, muffins etc etc - we were pleasantly full as we departed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
53
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Having stayed in Desota House numerous times this past year I felt I should write a review.
I have stayed 4 different rooms and found each as pleasant as the other. Some are far bigger than others but I was travelling on my own so always had enough space. The rooms are always clean, warm and each have a flat screen tv. Bathrooms are fine, with good water pressure in the shower - essential I think! Breakfast always fine, although I hate microwaved scrambled eggs! There's a good choice for the health conscious and not so health conscious. The location is perfect for walking to the city centre and I found the B&B easy to find, considering the first time I went I didn't know Galway at all and found it straight away.
Just bare in mind that this B&B does not have a communal sitting room or the like if that's what you're in to. Personally I don't ever look for such things as I believe a B&B is just that - bed and breakfast. It's not for hanging around in. So if you want to laze around during the day a hotel might suit you best.

Apart from all that, rates are good (goes up a bit in summer but to be expected), staff are very friendly and pleasant. I definitely recommend this B&B.

ONE MORE THING! There's free WiFi! Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

From the large, spacious rooms to the tastefully modern decor, this place is a must-stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and did I fawn over the beautiful (and not to mention ample & delicious!) breakfast room yet? Very close to the city center And shops (just across the bridge) but far enough that you are still on a residential road! I would recommend this place to everyone staying in Galway!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Desota house and despite of the fact that my husband was ill, we've enjoyed our stay here. Especially the hospitality of the owners was excellent. They did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was very good, the bathroom a little bit small but whatever. Breakfast was very good and everything we wanted was there. Distance to city centre was an about 10 min. walk and positive was the parking lot at the back of the B&B. Martin gave us also good tips about visiting the area of Galway. Whenever we come back to the Galway region, we would definitely choose Desota House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waidhofen an der Thaya, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Rooms were very nice and clean, TV, tea and coffee facilities. Internet access on the first floor. Breakfast was excellent (Irish Breakfast, porridge etc.). People were always friendly and very helpful (esp. pub recommendations...). B&B situated in a walking distance from the city center. We've had a wonderful stay!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room and ensuite was small but OK.

The staff were friendly.

The breakfast was lovely. There appear to be less tables and seats in the dining area than guests in the B&B and some guests had to wait for breakfast until a seat became vacant.

The hotel is close to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Partner's mother taken ill and was in the hospital at Galway - we stayed in three bed and breakfasts. The Desota being the third and the best of all - the two previous ones both more expensive were not a patch on this one.
Would definately recomend especailly room 2 - king size bed - fridge - flat screen t.v. - large shower - took some stress out of a difficult situation !
Very friendly, clean and a great breakfast !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desota House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desota House Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located, a scenic 5 minute walk from the centre of Galway City. All our rooms are ensuite and you can expect a comfortable stay in our property. We are located within 5 minutes walk from National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) and University College Hospital Galway (UCHG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Desota House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desota House Hotel Galway
Desota House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desota House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.