We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro Pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Massimo

Massimo
10 William St west, Galway, Ireland
091582239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 354 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gastro Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Found the food excellent, and selection of beers very interesting. Quality of staff service could be a little better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    11
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Horrible bar staff and service. Extremely rude, food was overpriced and slow service. Considering the reviews I had seen, I was very disappointed. Will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Little brother to Michelin star up the street.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great food in a bar. High quality quirky food with a twist, also have gluten free beer, nice one! Part of a group of restaurants including a spanish tapas place called Cava and a Michelin star place called Anair, so can't be bad!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place I wish I Could transport to Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I cant get over the poor reviews Eat @ Massimo seems to have gotten. Myself and my partner went in and had a delicious meal on new years day just gone. I had a ham, st. gall cheese and parsnip crisps pizza and it was absolutely scrumptious. She had one of the best burgers imaginable and we were almost licking our plates at the end. It's not mega cheap but I'd say to people - if you want to pay 8 quid for an average burger and a doughy run of the mill pizza don't come here. If you want fresh produce and wonderful ingredients and combinations and think that its worth paying a bob or two more then you're in for a treat. We paid thirty two quid for two which is very reasonable And criticisms of the staff are way off the mark. In fact, our waitress who was Australian lady was particularly good at her job and utterly friendly. It's a casual kinda place with comfortable & casual but excellent service. Next time I'm out west I'll be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Getting too bloody busy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Play good tunes, addition of food is a bonus (on the pricey side). Nice mix of a crowd frequent. Gets really busy as the other pubs in the area close.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.