We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dail Bar

The Dail Bar
42-44 Middle Street, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 563 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 328 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Dáil Bar and Restaurant has already become a firm favourite to both Galway residents and visitors alike with its stunning décor that is both impressive and comfortable at the same time evoking a relaxed warm atmosphere that just draws you in like your favourite local. Situated on the intersection of Middle Street and Cross St right in the heart of the city it really is a beautiful bar to visitThe Dáil is decorated in a wonderfully traditional manner with beautifully carved oak bars, feature fireplaces ,stunning staircases and many a cosy corner to while away an evening. The downstairs bar has a warm inviting local pub feel where you can relax and enjoy your favourite drink in a comfortable environment, chat to friends, and get to know the friendly bartender or just absorb the atmosphere and many hidden features that the bar has to find!The Dáil is also a restaurant serving top class food at Pocket friendly prices all day everyday. The varied and enticing menu really does go above and beyond a traditional pub menu.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had a lovely meal here. Really good options on the menu and really friendly staff. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    102
    14
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When Sonny's was full, we were directed to this 'sister' restaurant. Big disappointment - hamburgers were awful! Soup was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, General Manager at The Dail Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello, Thank you for your recent visit to The Dáil Bar and for your review.
I was disappointed to read your comments about our burgers. They are one of the most popular dishes on our menu and the feedback we receive on them is always positive.
If you happen to be back in Galway at any stage, please email me at manager@thedailbar.com and i would be delighted to welcome you back to The Dáil Bar and hopefully improve on your previous visit.

Best Regards,

Barry Donovan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday party at the Dail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was traveling in Ireland recently with a group of 25; one member had their bday while we were in Galway. I had planned a party for our group at another pub (The Front Door). I went there at noon on the day of the party to make sure everything was set for that evening, only to find out that due to a water main break that morning, we couldn't use it. The manager, who couldn't have been more helpful, had already made arrangements to move the party to the Dail, which is just around the corner in the Latin Quarter. So, on very short notice, the manager of the Dail accommodated our group for that evening - even doing the decorating for me! The set-up was awesome, the service was excellent, the food was great, and we all had an amazing time. In fact, the bday girl said it was her best bday ever! I can heartily recommend the Dail!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I reserved a table for 20 ladies for a Hen Party, we were not isolated but put in the perfect area so we could enjoy the party with a great atmosphere. The manager Ger was fantastic, the food was fantastic with a huge range of Gluten free options, the bar staff were great and the waitresses were lovely. I can't wait to go back to Galway so I can visit again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Consistently good and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The World Cup was on TVs throughout the bar as we came in, but we found a place on the second floor by the window that was quieter. The staff is utterly friendly and accommodating, the beer on tap delicious, and the food fresh and simply but well prepared. The decor is "old Irish Pub," but it's not studied or fake; this is a place where locals mingle with tourists, families with couples, and the old with the young in a pleasant, convivial way. And the price is right, too. We've been here many times over the years and will always go back. Right in the heart of Galway City.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dail Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Dail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dail Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.