We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dormers

The Dormers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dormers
Save
You added The Dormers to your Saves list
Whitestrand Road | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Columbia, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice B&B in a great location for seeing Galway. Maureen is an excellent hostess who made us feel very welcome and was very helpful. The Dormers is nicely furnished. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Galway area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the B&B and can't brag enough about the breakfasts! Now that I'm home, I'm really missing those scones! This location was very handy because it was a five -minute walk to the nearest grocery and ATM. Our hostess also helped arrange for a tour bus to pick us up right outside the B&B for the trip to the ferry for the Aran Islands. We also enjoyed walking on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was very nice decorated and clean. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Maureen is an awful nice person and very thoughtful. And the breakfast was the best we had during our time in Irland! The guesthousse is situated close to the beach and in walking distance (10 min.) to the town. We hope to come back again one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here on our last 2 nights in Ireland. it is in walking distance to both Salthill and Galway. I was glad to park a walk for a change. Maureen is helpful and a delight to talk to. Place is neat and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Dormers over St. Patricks Day weekend. Maureen, the hostess, could not have been nicer. Our room and bathroom were clean. The down comforter was nice to have since the weather was so chilly. The only issue I had was the water pressure for the shower wasn't very good. Otherwise, i'm glad we stayed there and outside of the city during the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Maureen is a sweet Hostess. Our room was cozy and clean. Very good Irish breakfast and porridge. Helpful when we needed to find a place to have laundry done.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The finest thing of our stay here was the great kindness of Maureen, the owner of the B&B.
The B&B position is very great, it is near Salthill beaches, with wonderful views of the sunset on Galway Bay, and not so far to the city centre.

Our room was very fine and bright with tea and coffea facility to start in the better way our stay in Galway. Maureen breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dormers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormers

Address: Whitestrand Road | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dormers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.