We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fourwinds Lodge

Save Saved
You added Fourwinds Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fourwinds Lodge
Gentian Hill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked here online for 2 nights but quit after one. The woman had the nerve to charge us 10 euro more because we didn't stay the second night. The room was very old, cramped and smelly. The room for breakfast was a glass conservatory and as hot as hell. The weather was pretty warm and the bedroom was hot. No fan was provided or offered. No top sheet on the bed, only a heavy doona. The bathroom was rubbish. The furniture ancient. The building looked like something out of "The Munsters".The only decent part was the flower garden. Don't stay here there are loads of other places to stay in Salthill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Four winds recently, and it was fantastic, the location is great, just a stones throw away from the sea, and a beautiful building, and setting, the rooms are beautifully kept.
I was there with my other half, and we had an amazing stay, we were very welcome by Bernie and Jim the owners who were nothing but helpful and Bernie was so sweet to us both. Galway is not to be missed, with senic views, and a bustling night life. I will definatly be returning.

Room Tip: Dont miss Breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just returned from 3 weeks in Ireland. I have to say that Fourwinds was a terrific place to call home for a few days. Friendly, clean and just ever so nice. We felt at home the moment we arrived. The gardens are just beautiful and a nice place to relax. What made it even better is that it was within walking distance to most anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here 21st july for 1 night, it is a lovely b n b, Bernie was very warm and welcoming. Our room was very nice on 2nd floor, it has all the usuals, hairdryer, tea making facilities, tv and ensuite. We had a great nights sleep, breakfast was very good and plenty to choose from. It is a 5 min taxi journey from salthill, i would recommend four winds and would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor to back of b n b
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerse
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the best welcome from Bernie and jim
Such warm friendly helpful people
The breakfast is to die for !
The B & B is beautiful & clean everything u need and more
This couple can not do enough for u to make your stay a happy one

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bernie and her family extended their lovely home to us. The bedrooms and entire home were beautifully decorated with family antiques. Breakfast was delicious and conversation was informative. Lovely stay and great start to our travels in western Ireland. We arrived early in the day and we were met with tea and warm smiles. The atrium made it possible to enjoy the magnificent garden and stay dry. Within an hour our rooms were ready. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you Bernie for your great travel hints and wonderful insights into your beautiful country. I hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Four Winds Lodge is a delightful B&B with a wonderful atrium, where breakfast is served, overlooking a magnificent garden. Our rooms were on the third floor. The rooms are a little tight due to the roofline, but were very comfortable with a view of Galway bay. Bernie, the innkeeper is very pleasant and her breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fourwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lodge

Address: Gentian Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fourwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourwinds Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.