We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sli Na Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sli Na Mara
Save
You added Sli Na Mara to your Saves list
9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights for the Galway portion of our honeymoon, would definitely come back. Bridie was a wonderful hostess and makes a delicious Irish breakfast. You can walk to the ocean or to the center of Galway(find the doughnut guy). The rooms are beautiful, pristine, and after staying in the heart of Dublin the night before, noticeably quiet. Considering the races were happening the weekend we were there, the price was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Tom O,

Thank you for your super review! We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your short stay with us in Galway. We will be sure to pass on your warm regards to the Doughnut Guy when we see him next!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
38
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WHITBY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it very nice. Clean and Modern rooms. Breakfast was very good! Location was a 5-10min walk to Quay Street which is a pedestrian street and the main area! Bridie was very welcoming and helpful! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear melandtom2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a gem of a b & b. It is located just a 10 minute walk from the main part of Galway and it is an easy walk. Bridie and George are very warm and helpful people. We enjoyed talking to them. They are the perfect hosts in that they were there when you wanted them and not when you wanted to be on your own. The room we were in was very clean and breakfast was very good. Parking was easy. They can put three cars in their drive and there is ample street parking. The neighborhood is quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear treesprite07,

Thank you for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in Galway and hope you come visit again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the B&B for two weeks and it was just great. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nice and the bathroom is perfect as well. Family Thomson is very kind and helpful, and the breakfast is fantastic. The house is very good located, just a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre and even closer to the sea. I can fully recommend this B&B to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Nadja R,

Thank you for your kind words! We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Galway in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, PA, USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unlike their advertisement, this B & B is a 20 minute walk to anything of interest in the city. Set in a nondescript housing development, the en-suite bath was the size of a closet with a toilet that flushed inadequately. When the owners were informed they were not concerned. Other rooms had larger bathrooms but the room itself was smaller. The room had few amenities and the comfort of the bed was marginal. Although they advertise that a "lounge" is available for guests, all interior doors t were closed at all times. A word of caution: cash only is accepted for payment which is not made clear except in small print depending on which site you use to reserve the room. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear penandpalate,

Thank you for your recent thoughts and impressions regarding your stay at Sli Na Mara.

We were sorry to hear your expectations were not met during your stay. We hope an opportunity to welcome you back arises in the near future where we are confident a more enjoyable stay will be had.

We do however, have some minor concerns regarding some elements of your feedback. Sli Na Mara is located, as indicated by many reviews on this website, a short walk from numerous sights and sounds in Galway. Google Maps indicates that our home is located just 8 minute walk to the tip of the Claddagh, home of the world famous Claddagh Ring. 8 min walk to the breath taking views of Galway Bay and Promenade and 12 minutes walk to Quay Street, the entertainment centre of the city.

In order to avoid confusion or misrepresentation, "the bath the size of a postage stamp" is in fact a single person shower tray, one which is of standard size in hotels and residential homes alike in this country.

We are acutely aware of the distress caused by our chosen method of payment and feel this may have spoiled an otherwise long and enjoyable stay for you and your partner. Unfortunately, credit card facilities are not available to a business of our size. While we do state this fact on all booking engines and direct bookings, we completely understand the inconvenience and frustration caused by this matter.

Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

The Thomson Family,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bridie is a warm and wonderful person who runs a B&B that is very home-feeling and lacks that commercial feel that larger B&B's have. The room was clean, comfortable and in a very safe location. Walking distance to the upbeat Latin Quarter, Only complain.....I wish I would have stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: I wouldn't think twice staying there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Jetsgg,

Thank you for your glowing review! While Sli Na Mara is a business, it is also our home and the non-commercial, local run aspect as mentioned in you feedback, is exactly the service we hope is communicated and most importantly experienced during a stay.

We hope an opportunity to welcome you back to Galway is not too far away!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is goog, 5-10 minutes by walking from the city center. The room was on the last floor and was very lovely even if the bathroom was in front of the room and not in the room, but it was only for us. The breakfast is good. George and Bridie are very kindly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Stefano C,

Thank you for your kind words and great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sli Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sli Na Mara

Address: 9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Galways's famous Promenade and the bustling city centre, Sli Na Mara offers comfort and a traditional Irish welcome to The City of the Tribes. A five minute stroll will take you to the heart of Galway city where sight seeing attractions, pubs and restaurants are plentiful. Sli Na Mara is perfect for those on business with its free Wi-Fi or those wishing to take advantage of all Galways has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sli Na Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.