We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affable, adequate, spotlessly clean with gold star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Heights Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amber Heights Guesthouse to your Saves list
Amber Heights Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Ashton House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Affable, adequate, spotlessly clean with gold star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a memorable stay at Amber heights last year, taking our lead from tripadvisor reviews, we booked up and drove down from Belfast for a two night stay.

The Guesthouse is easy to find and well situated, the beach was about a 10 minute walk away. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and reasonably tastefully decorated, definitely not tired but not quite cutting edge modern either.

The service during our stay was very affable and attentive, it made the say all the more enjoyable and chilled. The complimentary, ever ready coffee machine was an added bonus and the buffet breakfast was essentially all you could eat which set us up beautifully for the day - in particular for our blustery walk round the coast into Galway City.

On the downside the walls upstairs in the rooms afforded just a bit too much intrusive interaction with the other guests for our tastes, so when there was a drunken row one night. We noted the fact that the management didn't actually reside at the guesthouse and thus were not readily on call to diffuse the incident (Which continued for some time). Still disputes do happen, it is what it is.

Overall, we had a nice stay here. It was memorable and pleasant and suited our needs perfectly, we would go back. For a Guesthouse it was great and we recommend Amber Heights to others looking an affordable, adequate and affable venue to visit Salthill and Galway.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We now have staff at the B&B 24/7 who can be alerted should such incidents ever arise again.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the self catering chalet in the garden with our toddler. It was small, but had everything we needed - a couple of sofas, table and chairs and a fairly decent kitchen area (we didn't cook, but there were a few pans and an oven, so you'd be able to cook basic meals easily enough). It sleeps four, but would be pretty cramped for four adults sharing.

We didn't try the cooked breakfast, but there was a decent selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and bread.

Staff were pleasant and efficient.

It is fairly far out of town - it took us a good half hour to walk in through dull suburbia, but it's quick to drive (although parking in Galway is a bit pricey).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice experience staying here. The staff were efficient, the house is modern and cosy and the room was spacious and comfortable with the usual TV, kettle, hair dryer combination. Breakfast was lovely and there were a wide variety of options. It's not the friendliest staff I've experienced in a Galway B&B, but they were still far from rude and they got the job done and that's fine by me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

NO HEAT IN BEDROOM OR SHOWER ROOM hair dryer stinks of burning will take pics n post in a bit on here my woman likewise is disgusted you can review her take on our stay at Amber Heights and hope you will understand how we feel and fact being that the bus stop is a walk from the guest house so forty quid on taxis

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we have since taken your comments on board and fixed the problems. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are nice and completely frurnished with even an ironing board. Friendly people who welcome you. Room and bathroom was very clean. Make sure to bring your own amenities because there is no shampoo, etc. Soap is available through a dispenser at the wall.
Mattresses are quite soft. Breakfast has to be paid for separately for EUR 6 per person, but this is really worth the money with real coffee (espresso machine) yoghurt, jams, meat, cheese and your eggs to order.
Sufficient free parking in front of the door.
Not much going on around this area though.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the living room as the noise comes in your room even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have since had shampoo as well as handwash etc in each bathroom. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very happy with our choice of Amber Heights. The room was very clean, and they did provide extras like an ironing board, coffee machine and an in room safe. The public areas were nice, and the availability of a computer and printer was great. The staff was very accommodating. They did laundry for us on very short notice, which we very much appreciated. Breakfast was good, and the service was quick. The location was a little distance from downtown, but we did have a car so that was not an issue. However, there was not very much within walking distance. A very positive experience overall.

Trish & Rick R

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Trish,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at Amber Heights for three nights while visiting Galway. Were disappointed that it is in the middle of a residential neighborhood quite a ways from the center of town. However, our room was clean and spacious, and I liked that they provided lots of extra touches - hair dryer, ironing equipment, cappuchino machine, etc. Hot water is slow in coming, but there is plenty of it once it reaches your room. Breakfasts were hearty.

This is a guesthouse, not a B&B, so your interaction with others and the hosts is very limited. Also, hotel pictures show it as a white building - it has been painted gold and orange and signage is a bit confusing as it is attached to another building that apparently has another name.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber Heights Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Heights Guesthouse

Address: 11 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Ashton House)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Heights Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Heights is a newly renovated (APRIL 2011) purpose built Bed & Breakfast. Located just 10 minutes walk from Salthill and the beaches of Galway Bay. Amber Heights is the gateway to the west with easy access to the picturesque landscape of Connemara, Clifden and The Cliffs of Moher. 5 Minutes drive by car or taxi will bring you to the bustling heart of Galway City. We are sure you will not find a friendlier, cleaner, or well equipped bed and breakfast in Galway. Amber Heights is a Non-Smoking B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Amber Heights Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Heights Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.