We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prague House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prague House
Save
You added Prague House to your Saves list
40 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'd stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Prague House for only one night, but we really enjoyed our stay. Mary (the owner) went out of her way to be friendly and helpful, and breakfast was great. The location was perfect - short walking distance from the key things to see and do, and had a grocery store across the street which allowed us to stock up on much needed lunch stuff in order to save a little cash. It's on a fairly decent sized road and we were worried it would not be very quiet, but we had no problems. Could've used a bigger bed (my husband is tall and tends to take up a lot of space on the double bed we had, leaving me with little), but other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    44
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
141
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Prague House for four nights and felt like we were visiting family. Mary and Charlie were wonderful and so very sweet and helpful - went above and beyond what I would expect of any hosts. This B&B is located only 2 scenic blocks from the main area of shops, pubs, and restaurants. Everything was clean and lovely, information was readily available, and Mary's Irish breakfast was delicious! It was a wonderful experience and I will most definitely be staying there on my next visit to Galway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

As everyone else said perfect location, close to town but quiet at night. Mary and Charles were super hosts. Always ready to talk about where to go and how to get there, pubs for good music, local history. Mary was great at slolving problems for us, too. Helped us pay our Dublin road toll on her PC and phoned round and found the right place for us to go quickly and get a flat fixed. This place is a real gem! Wonderful fresh fruit as well as Irish breakfast

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Prague House B&B for 3 nights in July and it was perfect for us. It took us five minutes to walk into town, which was great so we didn't have to take a cab or bus. Mary, the owner, was so accomodating because she recommended tours for us, called the companies, and they picked us up right out front after breakfast! It was so perfect because there was so hassle.
The rooms were very clean and dining room was very nice. The breakfast was delicious and Mary did an excellent job meeting everyone's needs. I asked for coffee and Mary gave me my own coffee press! It was great! We also got our own basket of toast, and traditional Irish breakfast. There was also fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt on a table where you helped yourself.
Each morning Mary would inquire about everyone's stay and recommended different places to go/eat.
Mary also was so kind to drive us to the bus station with all our luggage, which we were so grateful for. When it was time to leave, it was like saying goodbye to a family member because Mary was so genuinley kind to us.
We definitely recommend the Prague House B&B to anyone staying in Galway!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We spent two nights at Prague House in July. Our Hostess was absolutely lovely. She was very helpfull, cheerfull and friendly. We liked the clean room, parking, great central location and the good breakfast that was included. There was no real minuses but considerations could be that the house is next to busy street (but we were not disturbed) and that the rooms and facilities are quite basic (but sufficient and clean).

All in all we had a nice stay at the Prague House.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We arrived at Prague House around 10:00 after an hours drive from Shannon airport. Although check-in wasn't supposed to be until afternoon, Mary welcomed us warmly and let us park our car in the lot until our rooms were ready. After finding out that we had just arrived that morning from the US she graciously offered us some cereal, juice and coffee. Mary goes above and beyond to meet her guests needs. We stayed in three different B&B's during our trip. All were lovely, but Mary was the only hostess who took the time to remember our and our teenage daughters' names.

Galway is a beautiful little town and is a very good base for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, Connemara, and other western points of interest. The center of town has a lot to offer including shopping, restaurants and a very lively pub scene. Go to McDonough's for THE BEST fish n' chips.

TIP: If you are renting a car you must splurge on a GPS. You will not regret it. There are virtually no street signs in Ireland. If a road is marked it is with a hard to find plate on a building or wall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prague House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague House

Address: 40 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praguehouse is situated in a prime location,just a short stroll to the cobbled stoned Quay St, where you can sample the best cuisine from many countries, also just a five minute walk from the beach and the long promenade walk in Salthill. You can visit Connemara, the Burren and Cliffs of Moher from here by car, or you can be picked up at the door by a tour company and dropped back again in the evening for any of these tours. There is a stop for the Aran Island just across the Street from Prague house, where the Shuttle bus will pick you up. For breakfast we supply plenty of healthy cereals, fruit yogurt, pancakes, homemade health bread, scones, and of course an Irish breakfast is also available, we also have vegetarian options available. We have a very relaxed homely atmosphere, and looking forward to welcoming you to Praguehouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.