We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Swiggans

Mc Swiggans
3 Eyre Street | Wood Quay, Galway, Ireland
00353 91 568 917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: Irish, Coffee Shop, Dessert, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a lovely eve ,I had goats cheese starter which was lovely ,the main was roasted mixed fish ,the salmon was over cooked and smoked fish was a bit strong ,I didn't finish main ,the waiter was very nice and friendly ,when we paid the bill the wine was on the house ( because the main course was not great ) which was lovely and we were so impressed ,will def go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    126
    38
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the Apple Pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We regularly go to Ireland as a family. Mc Swiggans has an ideal location (walking distance from the city centre) and it is great restaurant for a family. Our kids are always well fed. The menu is very reliable, service is fast, the restaurant is quaint. The food is fresh and delicious. It is busy with locals at lunch time so try to be flexible. This is a restaurant that we visit every time we go to Galway and we have never been disapointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visted Mc Swiggans while in Galway for St. Pats weekend. We selected the restaurant at random and were so glad we found it. The pub downstairs and the restaurant upstairs are wonderfully decorated and you feel like you are dinning in private even with a full house.

I had the Roast Chicken in Beef Au Jus and my boyfriend had the Fresh Cod, both from the daily specials menu. The meals were high quantity and high quality. The food is just delicious. We finished with Calypso Coffee, the Banoffee Pie and the Chocolate Hazelnut Brownie. I thought nothing could beat the chicken but that brownie was heaven on a plate.

Have no clue why this venue isn't rated higher on TA. Going back to Galway in May and looking forward to eating here at least once!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch with Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent food and services as always. Good menu selection and reasonably priced especially for the quality of the food. A long standing favourite venue!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“McSwiggans - does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Always consistent. Varied extensive menu. Highly recommended. Sizzling dishes deserve special mention. Don't know what lunch is like but dinner menu is recommended. Always busy there which speaks for itself!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Swiggans also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Mc Swiggans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Swiggans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.