We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, lovely staff very high class.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Swiggans

Mc Swiggans
3 Eyre Street | Wood Quay, Galway, Ireland
00353 91 568 917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 355 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Nice food, lovely staff very high class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on my recent visit to Ireland. Was greater by a friendly waitress from Donegal. The restaurant was extremely busy but no bother to her, she gave us the greatest of service and went beyond the call of duty to ensure our satisfaction with our meal. Excellent staff. The food was nice and reasonably priced. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    115
    33
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Busy Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to McSwiggans as friend recommended. I am a plain food eater so found the starters too 'fancy' so just had the soup. Had fillet steak for main course, very tasty. Large building, we climbed a lot of steps to get to our table. Staff friendly and served in timely manner. Would have enjoyed only for the noisy child who kept crying for attention from her parents (table next to us). Large bar area down stairs, nice for drink after meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“g . fegan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we loved this place the food was fantastic there was six of us four adults annd two kids and we were all very happy with the food and service was very friendly and quick which is good when you have kids the kids would definately be back xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub and also a classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I come here a lot the food is very tasty the staff are friendly and the restaurant is nicely decorated. There are seats downstairs and upstairs and its a child friendly place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I go to McSwiggans quite often, always receive great service all staff are very professional and have very good customer skills! The lunch specials are good value and big portions. I always recommend it to people although just once I have been to a evening dinner in McSwiggans and it is a bit too expensive for now day's food. Everything else very good

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Swiggans also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Mc Swiggans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Swiggans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.