We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Always a Banker"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Swiggans

Mc Swiggans
3 Eyre Street | Wood Quay, Galway, Ireland
00353 91 568 917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 354 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Claregalway
2 reviews
“"Always a Banker"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a very good service on a early evening, went for the classic favourites,
Seafood chowder, BBQ pork than Vegetarian pancakes and Monkfish in garlic cream sauce.
We have never ever had a problem here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    115
    33
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing due to staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went here for lunch yesterday as it was highly recommended by a friend. The atmosphere was pretty good until the waitress showed up to take our order. Clearly hungover she was impatient and had a really bad attitude, which I found to be very off putting. Not only that, but I had clearly stated that I was gluten and dairy intolerant and she did check (much to her dismay) with the chef as to what I could eat from the menu, but when my food came out with another waitress there was feta cheese on my chicken salad. When I asked the waitress about the cheese she mentioned the diary intolerance was not specified on the order. I had to wait a further five minutes just for the cheese to be picked off!! Needless to say I will not be returning. It is such a pity that one waitress can make or break the reputation of an establishment such as that. The fact that she was an American waitress was very surprising as usually American waitresses are exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“My favourite Galway restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is my favourite Galway restaurant and I couldn't visit Galway without having at least one meal in McSwiggans. However, since sometimes it is full, I always book a table the day before if possible. It has an extensive menu which now seems better value than it did a few years ago. Fish and chips is now priced at €16 while a few years ago fish was €17.50 with chips extra. Service is always helpful and quite quick. The restaurant has lots of different eating areas so, although it must cater for large numbers, one is usually in a small area. I had the McSwiggans
chicken special which is chicken breast wrapped in Parma ham and stuffed with cream cheese - really delicious. Chips come with the meal but vegetables have to be ordered separately - don't forget this since the waitress probably won't ask about vegetables if you don't mention them. It was a filling meal but the sweets looked so god we were all tempted. I had the trio of ice creams which, although it doesn't sound that exciting, had superb flavours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've eaten in the restaurant here many times but this time I just had lunch in the pub part. It was such good value but great quality food. I've often found the restaurant part to be pricey but the pub was great value. Upstairs is very comfortable and you can sit and relax with a drink after your lunch. They have a range of specials on every day from €6.95 so you can easily get a lunch and a drink for a little over €10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great find in busy Galway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend had been to McSwiggans before on a previous trip so he recommended it. I imagagined it to be a small restaurant upstairs in a bar however I was pleasantely surprised when I saw how spacious and beautifully decorated it was. I had booked before we came to Galway and we were glad as there was a queue of people waiting for a table. We had a drink while we were waiting and we shown to our table up on the third floor. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We were in no rush to leave so we had a very relaxing meal. The portions were very generous - you certainly would not come out hungry but so tasty at the same time. I will definitely be back to McSwiggans next time I visit Galway!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Swiggans also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Mc Swiggans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Swiggans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.