We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coolin House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolin House B&B
Save
You added Coolin House B&B to your Saves list
Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
OKC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent two nights in Coolin House with our hostest Marian. The B and B is about a block off the promenade that runs along the seashore of Galway Bay. A bus stop is at the corner which will take you into Galway very cheaply if you want to go there. We attended the Trad on the Prom show (excellent!) and walked to that hotel from Coolin House, about ten minutes walk and vey safe. Marion was cordial and answered any questions we had. She fixed a well-made Irish breakfast to our order. Along the side bar was a small selection of cereal and fruit with juice and coffee or tea. The house was immaculate, gleaming, and pretty-and very important to me, it was quiet at night and the bed very comfortable. While the bedroom itself was tiny with very little space to move about, the bathroom was large with tub and shower. Take your own washclothes if you use them. We stopped two Irish girls on the street and asked for pub grub recommendation as there are very few eating places in that area. They sent us to Lohans' Pub and it was very tasty and reasonably priced, though a good 20 minute walk from Coolin House. I highly recommend the beef and guiness stew! The price at Coolin's B and B was satisfactory for a clean room and a filling breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a wedding nearby. Coolin house was in a great location, very close to the hotel for the wedding and 2 min walks to the promenade. Room was perfect an the breakfast just what we needed! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Salthill is a suburb of Galway. It is a destination for the Irish with the seashore, casinos and good restaurants. We were ready to be outside of a City and Coolin House was a good choice for us. A short bus ride to the center of Galway, we found Coolin House to be ideal for our needs.

Recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just finished a lovely three days in Galway. Marian and Thomas are extremely gracious hosts. We asked Marian for a bit of assistance that was above and beyond the normal call of duty and she graciously helped us out.

The last night we were there a group of us sat in the living room and chatted until almost 1am. (fellow room renters Lena and Alice, sisters originally from Galway who were in their 70's.) The group of us laughed and laughed. Lena and Alice were part history lesson and part stand-up comedy routine.

Location is great (easy walk to Salt Hill restaurants and water), breakfast is great, rooms are clean, and Marian/Thomas are charming. You can't go wrong with Coolin House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed for one night while we attended a wedding in a nearby hotel. Beautiful house, fantastic breakfast; Marions homemade bread is out of this world. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying here while on our side trip to Galway. Marian is a fantastic hostess: the rooms are very comfortable and the freshly-cooked Irish breakfast was great (don't pass up the HOMEMADE brown bread!). For anyone into outdoor sports, talk to the man of the house: he gave me some great ideas for hiking and fishing in nearby Connemara. Short stroll from the beach and golf course, and a short ride into the city for great shopping, cafes, and nightlife. If ever in Galway, do not pass this place up!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Arrived without a booking and Marion was very welcoming. Our room was small but newly renovated and beautifully clean. Our shower was postage stamp size but our friends had a full size bathroom. We walked into town; a good walk along the beach promenade. The breakfast was cooked to order and could not be faulted. Stay again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolin House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolin House B&B

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolin House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.