We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hostel I've stayed in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Snoozles Hostel to your Saves list
Snoozles Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Forster St, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nicest hostel I've stayed in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After hopping right off the Gobus, myself and a buddy checked in on the friday and were greeted a lovely friendly receptionist. We made our way to our 4-bed female ensuite dorm and packed away our stuff.

The place was spotless, the clientele were that bit older and every member of staff we came across went completely above and beyond.

Snoozles only loses the one star for price, but really that's just nitpicking. I'd happy reccomend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Creaghfish,
Thanks for your nice review – we are delighted you found us spotless and that you would recommend us. I’m sorry if you found us expensive - July weekends in Galway are extremely busy (on account of all the great festivals going on!) so accommodation is at a premium. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to stay with us again off peak. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
14
35
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a great stay in Snoozles, Galway. The hostel was clean and warm (with the warm part being of vital importance in Galway, ahem). Lovely cosy beds, and the kitchen was spotless. The staff on reception went out of their way to welcome us and help us out in every way they could.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Roundandabout148,
Thank for your really nice review and your 5/5 ratings! We are glad you found both the building and the staff warm! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home to Colombia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

With very short notice we stayed here for our christmas party at and were very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff! the Hostel was very clean. its conveniently located beside the bus station, and its its quiet compared to other places in the city. I have stayed in a good few hostels over the years and i have to say this was one of the nicest. the Dorms are clean and beds were comfortable and had a good nights sleep. we also stayed here in February

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Static Steve,
Thanks for the great review and the 5/5 rating across all 6 categories! We are glad you found our location convenient and our staff to be helpful! Maybe we will see you again next Christmas? You know where we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I really loved the staff and the location of this hostel. Rooms were in pretty good condition but the bathroom was a little rough: nothing to worry about though! There's a lot of space to hang out in the hostel; which is pretty cool. Breakfast was great. Price was very good! Draws a lot of Americans though, for those wanting to meet more Irish/Europeans, I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi KatieM,
Thank your review. We are delighted you loved us and our location. I’m not sure what you mean by the bathroom was a little rough but I’m glad it was only a minor issue. We always have a great mix of guests staying with us – most of our guests are actually European. I guess it just depends on the night in question who is actually staying! We hope you had a safe onward journey and hope to see you again when you return to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of 12 lads jus stayd there for the weekend.. the 2 girls on reception were so nice. they could not have been more helpful. i can not speak highly enough of them.. always had a smile on there face, kind, welcoming.. so soo nice.. Very good location also as its close to bars and shops nightlife, bus station etc.. Clean and tidy. very relaxed place and always has a good buzz. The 2 ladies were fantastic so again. a big thank you to them.. highly recomend this hostel.. Regards Marty!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Marty!
Thank you for your great review and for the 5/5 in all categories! It was great to meet you all and we’re glad we helped make your weekend memorable! Best of luck with the wedding – we hope to see you all again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

11 lads on a trip to Galway to celebrate a few 30th birthdays. To be honest, gone are the days of hostel weekends away and I was not overly looking forward to staying in a hostel called Snoozles! However this place was excellent. Modern, clean and very friendly staff. The place was ideal for us. The shower and bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfy enough for what we needed. It had a very well stocked vending machine in the main lobby which was great after a late night!
Would have no reservations recommending this, and for thirty euros a night it was great great value.
Location was ideal too. About a 7 minute walk from the main part of the city....but far enough way not to be too noisy when we returned and wanted to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi HatStephens,

Thank you very much for your review – I’m glad that despite being somewhat apprehensive initially, you found us to be excellent! We appreciate your 5/5 rating for all 6 categories and we are delighted you would recommend us to your friends. It’s very re-assuring to hear that from a Tripadvisor Senior Contributor. We look forward to having you stay with us again – hopefully before the 40th birthdays come round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at Snoozles for four nights while exploring the Galway area, and it was always a nice place to return to after a long day. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us information on what to do and answering all our questions. The large hallways make it seem more like a hotel than a hostel, and the rooms were spacious enough. We had a bathroom attached to our 6-person room, so on one hand it was nice to not have to walk down the hall to use the bathroom, but it made it a little difficult to find time for all of us to shower in the morning.

The hostel was clean and welcoming, well-positioned in Galway while avoiding the loudness of hostels on the pub-packed downtown streets. It was right next door to the bus station, which came in very handy as we took bus tours two days in a row!

Overall, staying at Snoozles helped make our visit to Galway a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear JuliaMichelle,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted you rated us 5/5 overall and that you found Snoozles to be clean and welcoming. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we really enjoyed helping you make the most of your time in Galway. We hope you have a safe onward journey and enjoy the rest of your vacation! The Team at Snoozles Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Address: Forster St, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is Galway’s newest purpose built hostel and finished to the highest standard. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite! Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you heaps of tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside the coach and rail station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. Snoozles Hostel is ideal for people travelling alone as making friends is always encouraged! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snoozles Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.