We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Day tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Snoozles Hostel to your Saves list
Snoozles Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Forster St, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Day tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hostel is located next to the coach station. It's easy to access the main street of Galway. The staff are super friendly. We stayed at the room just next to the lift. It's quite noisy when someone using the lift. The breakfast is simple but it's far enough because it's free.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jantiman,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be super friendly and our location ideal for day trips. If you come to Galway again, please let us know and we will arrange a room away from the lift. Wishing you a safe onward journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
14
35
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Why should you sleep here if you want to visit the Moher's Cliff and Connemara?Of course you could found a place closer,but if you want to stay in a city(and Galway is the only big city in the area)this is the best because it's very well located,just next to the coach'station. I spent 2 night with my girlfriend in a private room with bathroom inside and we found it very comfortable and very good equipped.All the staff were very kind and ready to help you if you need some suggests!In the morning you will enjoy the breakfast with bread,jam,butter,the,coffee,milk.In the hostel you can found also free wi-fi and modern kitchen if you want to cook something.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DommeBiondo,
Thank you for your review and for leaving detailed feedback! We are glad you found us to be well located and that you found your room comfortable and well equipped. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you had a safe journey home to Italy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Snoozles is right next to the coach station, which is the departure point for many day tours to places like the Connemara. There is a well-equipped kitchen, with Tesco and Lidl a short walk away. Shop Street is also a short walk away (across the other side of Eyre Square) for food, shopping and trad music.

The 10-bed mixed dorm we stayed in was spacious and clean. It was nice having an ensuite bathroom but ours had a strange smell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Holsyw,
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to leave detailed feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for rating us 5/5 for value, location and service. I am sorry if there was a strange smell in your room - I have investigated and found the room to be clean and pleasant smelling - there is however an air freshening unit in the en-suite so perhaps this was the strange smell? I have adjusted the fresh air vent also. Thank you for brining this to our attention. We hope you had a safe onward journey and enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Snoozles on a weekend trip to galway. we had a private twin room with en-suite.
the room and bathroom was clean and tidy and they gave bedding which was very good as we traveled light and without bedding. And the location was perfect!! right next to the coach park and around the corner from the clubs and pubs!!

the lounge area is ery comfy with a good atmosphere!!
loved the bbq facilities outside - even though we didnt use it this time, we will definitely stay here again and make use of this (maybe in the summer)
All and all, efficient and friendly staff and excellent facilities!!
Good value for money!!

Room Tip: We had a twin room with en-suite because we were just 2 and wanted privacy and security. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review and feedback. Thanks also for rating us 5/5 for all six categories! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back to Snoozles next summer in time to use the free BBQ! We hope you had a safe onward journey and we wish you a very Merry Christmas and we hope your 2013 is filled with travel and adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

the hotel is right next to the coach station, the staff is very friendly and we even got a free upgrade when we arrived (we were supposed to be in a bedroom with 6 other people and ended up having our own private room). the breakfast is more than ok, the living room is great (movies, Wii, etc) and they have a big terrace. 2 minutes away from Eyre square. I would definitely recommand this place and this is where I would stay if I ever go back to Galway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Snoozles Hostel. Your great review and positive feedback really made our day! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to Galway and stay with us again. We wish you a safe onward journey and a very Happy and Peaceful Christmas! Shane Healy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeabost, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

great place to stay, brilliant staff, lots of advice, cheap, clean, bathroom suitable for wheelchair user and no up in prices great beds and facilities, it would be great if there were of those in big cities, would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: just a warning if you go by car and park it at the station s car park ( cheap ) you can have your ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Gwenny33,

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating - I am thrilled you rated us 5/5 for all 6 categories!
We pride ourselves on offering personalised and individual recommendations, based on our own experiences, rather that recommending somewhere or something because its popular or 'cool' - we have the best local knowledge and love to pass on our insider tips!

Regarding the issue with your car, did this happen in the car park we offer a discount for? If so, I would ¬appreciate if you could let me know more about the issue you had (shealy@snoozleshostel.ie). We only want to work with, and recommend the best local companies and I would certainly not like to be recommending a car park that does not match our high standards. If the issue did not occur in our recommended car park, I can only apologies on their behalf.

Many thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Thüringen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I feel very safe at the Snoozles hostel, the staff is young and very competent and friendly, the rooms are fairly clean and there's everything a backpacker could need.

Only irritation: The prices that are shown online always seem to be a little bit wrong. For example a monday-night in the 10-bed dorm is supposed to cost 9,99 Euro, but I've been charged 12,50 and this has not been the only case. I don't quite understand why? o__O

Room Tip: Just take some earplugs with you, then your night will be the most peaceful, wherever you choose to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Gab R,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review and for your 5 star rating.

I am happy you felt safe and secure here - we feel it this is one of the most important features to look for when travelling alone. Regarding the price difference: when you stayed with us, €12.50 was the rate for your room, however we often run online promotions on our website where we sell beds for as little as €9.99. These discounted rates are only available by booking online, on our website. Regarding the ear plugs - good idea! We actually have some at reception, free of charge, just ask! Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Address: Forster St, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is Galway’s newest purpose built hostel and finished to the highest standard. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite! Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you heaps of tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside the coach and rail station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. Snoozles Hostel is ideal for people travelling alone as making friends is always encouraged! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snoozles Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.