We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Snoozles Hostel to your Saves list
Snoozles Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Forster St, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Glen Oaks, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The rooms were clean but the 1st room we had the shower would only shoot out scalding hot water and we had to switch rooms. In between switching to the other room the maid staff threw out all of our toiletries that were full! They only offered us 10 euros to replace them. The 2nd room was on an extremely loud floor. It was spring break so unfortunately all of the college kids would get drunk in the lounge all day and then play kickball in the hallways and then run inside and outside of the Hostel screaming and yelling and banging into doors until 3 am when the front desk finally told them to shut up. It was insane. I would only recommend this place if you don't care about getting any sleep and don't mind sweating cause of the lack of windows and air conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
14
35
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brest, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We often go to Ireland with friends of mine, and we've already been to Snoozles before. As the 1st experiencehad been a good one, we came back this year... but we've been really disappointed... Rooms for 4 are now for 6 (4 beds on the evacuation plan - and we experienced so, the last time we stayed there), so less space... the bathroom, not that clean : water flows from the shower, tap wasn't fixed to the washbasin...
Could do for a one night stay...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Clean & Quiet. Comfy bed. But couldn't we get a towel for €70 (Twin room)? It's a kind of Ryanair mentality to get people to fork out €5 (incl. deposit) for a towel after they've handed you that much money. Small gripe, I know, but I'd think twice before going again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I would really recommend staying in this gorgeous hostel in Galway! It is really central, has friendly and helpful staff. The facilities are modern, breakfast is included which is a huge plus when your travelling on a budget.
Common area's are plush and comfortable.
However there is no parking but the hostel has a deal with a nearby hotel which works out pretty cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed in the hostel for only one night and I will definitely recommend it to my friends. We had a trip on the west coast of Ireland with my friends and two of us decided to stay one more night in Galway therefore we had nothing booked for the night. We actually hoped for a room for only the two of us. When we got there we learned they have only four beds room available but the staff had no problem to make it private for us.
The room was very clean and beds were comfortable. I had a really good sleep there although my friend who is a light sleeper said she was woken up few times by door slamming coming from the doorway.
The breakfast was much nicer with more choice we had in other hostels before and was included in the price. Kitchen is clean, with two sinks and a dishwasher.
The staff was again helpful and very friendly at the checkout.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The rooms of this hostel were very basic but very clean. The price includes a small breakfast. There is an adequate kitchen to use if you plan on cooking your own meals. The only issue we had was the bathroom shower. The water does not drain well, and if you are not careful it will leak into the room, under the door. It was incredibly quiet in the evening so it is great for people who want to go to sleep early. Snoozles reminded me of a HI-Hostel (take that as you will).
The location in Galway was very central and convenient. Close to bars and pubs if you want to experience some nightlife.
Overall this hostel is average but not unique in any sense of the word.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Unfortunately Galway was in a freeze and we had no hot water on the top floor. The staff did let us use another shower though and were very helpful when booking a trip to the cliffs of Moher. Good price and recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Address: Forster St, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is Galway’s newest purpose built hostel and finished to the highest standard. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite! Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you heaps of tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside the coach and rail station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. Snoozles Hostel is ideal for people travelling alone as making friends is always encouraged! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snoozles Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.