We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Skeff

The Skeff
28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 338 restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bathurst
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good pub grub. Excellently priced lunch specials. Nice atmosphere, lots of nooks and crannies to separate guests. Great location, easy to find in central Galway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Owner at The Skeff, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Angela S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We offer a wide choice of dishes during lunch from our hot carvery lunch to salads and sandwiches from our sandwich bar.

I have passed your kind words on to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ashling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    73
    66
    19
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
“birthday party at the skeff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are looking for a good spot for a party i would thoroughly recommend the skeff in Galway.
The location is so central to the city and the skeff is a very popular spot. The size of the area upstairs was perfect, the staff were lovely and helpful and i felt that nothing was too much trouble.
the Food platters were delicious. I got a free birthday cake and champagne which went down very well with my guests. There is a bar and toilets upstairs too which make it very convenient as well Thank you Skeff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Clairem,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our party food platters and that all your guests had an enjoyable time.
We are blessed with our central location and the fact that we have 6 bars under the one roof for people to choose from when booking a party. I will pass your kind words of thanks on to all our staff who always welcome all feedback whether good or bad.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Paul is the man best bar man we have met in the whole of irelad thanks wont be forgoten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Love it paul should be paid more should have stayed to try the food could do with some good loking bar maids

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear AdamCray,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I will pass your kind comments on to Paul and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to sample some of our food options.

Warm regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Pub, Good Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had walked past this pub several times during our stay in Galway, seeing many young people hovering around the doorway. We assumed that they catered to a very young crowd, but when we finally stepped in, we were very pleasantly surprised. It was a beautiful, old pub, dark paneling, good lighting, friendly faces. We had a few drinks in the bar area, along with an appetizer. It was so good, we decided we'd stay on for dinner. Meanwhile a band began setting up. Our waiter told us that the kitchen was closing, but if we wanted to order quickly, he could see if he could rush the order in. Mission accomplished...dinner served, he had us moved to a great table in the room with the band, and we had a wonderful time, and a great dinner! Great waiter!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear MissKitty731,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen.
I was delighted to read such a positive review about our food, staff and entertainment. We are known for our central location and for being one of the most unique bars in Galway city.
I have passed your kind words on to all our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen on your next visit to the city of the tribes.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My mum and I recently went to The Skeff for a quick drink and meal after a long day on the road. We shared an order of fish n' chips and both got the strawberry daiquiri. The chips weren't fried completely (some where barely warm in the middle) and the fish was passable. However, the true fright came when the server arrived with our daiquiris (see photo below). It looked like a huge, red snow cone through into a cosmo glass. It was already melting and dripping down the stem and made a huge mess for anyone carrying it or sitting near it. Then there was it's flavor, which was absolutely horrendous. Barely any strawberry taste, not mixed well, and tasting mostly of ice. After a few sips I couldn't stomach any more. The one positive aspect of our trip here was our server, a wonderfully nice young lady. She took our complaints in stride and happily asked if she could bring us two new ones (I declined but my mum accepted one). The second one came out in a different style glass (looked like a high-ball, sadly my phone died before I could snap a photo of it) and thankfully was not as overflowing as the first. Sadly, however, the taste only improved a smidge. The bar tender seriously needs to overhaul his recipe for the daiquiri.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Katherine S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen and my apologies that our food and cocktails did not come up to par.

On the night in question we were experiencing issues with our fryers in the kitchen which have since been rectified so thank you for bringing that to our attention. With regards to the strawberry daiquiris you received we were in the process of training a new cocktail team member up and unfortunately your cocktails did not reach the high expectations we have set for them but it did mean it was a great learning curve for the staff member and showed the importance of sticking to set recipes for our cocktails to ensure all cocktails are served correctly and consistently.

I would like to thank you again for bringing these issues to us as we do feel it is the only way to improve and further our business.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skeff also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Skeff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skeff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.