We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definitely a recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tide Bed & Breakfast

High Tide Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Tide Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added High Tide Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
9 Grattan Park | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
“This is definitely a recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

For our first bed and breakfast in Galway, we could not ask for a better place. Pat and her family were warm and welcoming. Pat was an amazing cook and was very social, advising were to go andthings to see. It was great that the B&B was so close to the bay, giving us an excellent view. The rooms were a bit small, but with three people sharing the same room it wouldn't be too hard for any room to be crowded. It was a lovely room nonetheless. For anyone that is planning a trip to Galway, then this B&B is highly recommended.

-Jonathon Deeter

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Pat was a lovely warm host. A great cook and always up for a chat. We were made very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Our room at the front of the house was smaller than those at the rear but the views over the bay where outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was the first B&B my husband and I had ever stayed at, and we were had a truly pleasant stay. Pat is enthusiastic about her house and her guests, and was really comfortable to talk to. Our room (the lavender room!) was beautiful. Small (but what do you need a big room for anyway?), GREAT view, and very clean.

House was quiet as a mouse overnight, no traffic noise from the road beside the house. TV provided was excellent for a bit of entertainment after a long day of walking.

Breakfast was fantastic! Like I mentioned my husband and I had never been to a B&B before, so we didn't know what to expect. When we came into the dining room and saw cereal, fruit and yogourt, we were pleased as punch, and then found out there was a hot meal to go with it! Great pancakes, I had them every morning we were there. My husband had the french toast and loved it too.

In addition to running a stellar business, Pat was very helpful as well! We were scheduled to be picked up by a tour bus that forgot us, and we a little nervous about asking to use Pat's phone, and try to call the tour company with unfamiliar numbers and unfamiliar accents, but when she realized that we were still waiting, there was no stopping her! She called the company and had them come back for us, which was really lovely of her.

I would recommend this B&B to ANYONE! Thanks again, Pat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Pat waited for us until late to give us the house keys on the day we arrived. The next day she fixed breakfast for us(and all her guests) with a smile. Breakfast choices are very good. She makes the most delicious jams and breads! The omeletes are awesome! She is a great cook! And very friendly. The rooms are small but clean and they do have enough space for 1 double and one twin bed. No there is not a large sitting area in the room, but there are 2 big enough living rooms in her house where you are welcome to enter. Our family of four (2 young chidren) was very comfortabel there. We just want a clean cozy place to come rest after long days. The restroom are very clean and a lady cleans them evry single day.Parking is free, which is a plus. It took us only 7 minutes walk to be in Galway center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Pat is very friendly, keen to make you feel welcome and full of suggestions of things to do in the area. The room was nice but the ensuite was quite small with a slated door (you couldn't see in, just out a bit) and the sink in the room rather than by the toilet. Good choice of TV channels. Breakfast was really good, great choice of food and quickly prepared as well. It is only a 10 - 15 minute walk to both Galway City Centre and Salthill, so the location is great meaning we could just leave the car and have some nice walks during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have stayed at this B&B many times in the past 20 years and it is my favorite place. Pat and her husband are warm and friendly and it is only a 5-minute walk into the heart of Galway City while overlooking Galway Bay. I highly recommend the French toast for breakfast. I recommend it to friends all the time and everyone comes back and tells me what a great place it was to stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

A very quaint and elegant bed and breakfast with a superb hostess. Pat and her husband were gracious and accomodating. Some of the rooms are small, but we stayed two nights and were not inconvenienced or intimidated by the room. A very nice area can be used by guests to sit and relax, as we did with a bottle of wine and glasses provided by the hostess. Close to the city, a nice walk on a nice day. Great view and walkway along the water. Breakfast was exceptional, plenty of variety and more than enough to eat. Would recommed to friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Tide Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Grattan Park | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tide Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.