We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trad on the Prom

Trad on the Prom
Galway Bay Hotel | The Promenade, Salthill, Galway, Ireland
+353 (0)87 2388 489
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 71 attractions in Galway
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Le Locle, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a really good evening. Not only the show was great, the musicians, singers and dancers were excellent, but also they were funny, friendly and professional.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    53
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What an excellent show! We didn't know at the time that we booked the very last show of the season (28th September). You wouldn't have known that the dancers and musicians have been performing 3 times a week for the last 5 months. Excellent, excellent music and dancing. We were a party of 6 and loved everything -- from Mairin's fiddle to Chris's narrating. Just wonderful!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful magic show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Once again I went to see Trad on the prom in The Salthill Hotel in Galway, and once again I was amazed at the talent. It is impossible to describe the show. I try tell people how great it is, but there are no words to describe it. The musicians, the dancers, the singers (especially Marc Roberts)and Chris with the lovely soothing voice as M.C. were wonderful, electric, and magic, the venue was on fire with talent. 8 of us went, including my cousins from New Jersey, who could not believe it. My advice, GO SEE IT FOR YOURSELF, next year, as my words are not adequate to describe it, you wont be sorry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Talented performers, terrible venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We saw Trad on the Prom last week in Galway, and were disappointed. Although the talent was amazing, the venue (a ballroom in a hotel) was TERRIBLE. Because all the chairs were set in rows, we had a hard time seeing anything, and finally had to stand in the back to see. There were projections of the show on screens which were a little flimsy. The emcee was kind of cheesy. If it was just the dancers and musicians it would have been great (in a theatre with stadium seating). The people behind us left and asked for their money back because they could not see.
It was definitely a "tour bus" attraction, and we were herded into the theatre like cattle. Again, maybe in a different venue I would have enjoyed it more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quite rightly deserves the number one position by Tripadviser of things to do in Galway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Four of us went to see this show because it was so highly rated by Tripadviser. The reviews were all correct, it was an excellent show. It made us feel proud to be Irish and to be part of our wonderful heritage.The Irish dancers, musicians, singers and artists were all first class so talented and a joy to watch and to listen to. The show finished for the season last week but hopefully it will return next year. It's a show not to be missed and as an extra treat do the package, dinner and show. We did this in the Salthill Hotel and we had an excellent dinner followed by a brilliant show a great night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trad on the Prom also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Trad on the Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trad on the Prom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trad on the Prom to your Saves list