We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant

Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant
21 Quay Street, Galway -, Ireland
+353 91 565 662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 328 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent food but it was the welcome and service that really set Martine's apart. Sean at front of house was particularly good and everyone should try his cocktails! Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    163
    53
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtmacsherry
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We dined in Martines this week, excellent food, good atmosphere, pleasant staff and very good value. Four diners, four different meals, one conclusion -excellent food all round and very good service. Will certainly plan to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Ate here with a colleague on a business trip, we picked it by chance really as it was local to the hotel we were staying in. I had 2 courses and both were exceptionally good - even things I don't usually like (rocket side salad for example) were really tasty.

Service was good, staff were friendly and food was seriously good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Missed the mark on all. Careless and distracted. Choose another.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited after considering several recommended top restaurants. Selected based on daily specials. We asked if they were serving what was offered on the outdoor menu board, and were told yes and invited in.
We ordered, our food came and we were told the menu outside was written wrong and we would not be getting what we came in for and asked for: lemon asparagus risotto. At first we were told it was our mistake?!, and then later on his own the server apologized.
Dessert: Creme brûlée came out awful. The top was too thick to break, literally! The bottom was complete liquid that squirted out the sides leaving a hard sugar rock on top. We returned it. The chef apologized. It should have never left the kitchen.
Walls need cleaning.
This restaurant seemed to be " resting on it's laurels" or the manager is on vacation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Myself and three friends booked a table here on a whim, we had heard good things about the restaurant and decided to judge for ourselves. From the moment we entered, we were made to feel welcome, our coats were taken immediately and we were given menus, water and informed of the specials without delay. I must say the service there was second to none, myself and my friends all with work or have worked in the service industry and therefore can be heard to please (I won't lie!!) however, there were no causes for even contemplating a complaint here.
I had the wood pigeon, it was my first time sampling this dish and it was delicious, I followed that with the salmon, which was so fresh and cooked perfectly, it was actually the best fillet of salmon I've ever had and that's saying something!I have a severe allergy to dairy (not lactose intolerance a full blown allergy), our waitress could not have been more accommodating in relation to this, offering me a supplementation for anything that contained dairy and ensuring nothing containing dairy products made contact with my dishes, she did this without drawing attention and with the minimum of fuss (unlike other establishments I could mention!!), which was gratefully appreciated.
My guests opted for the goats cheese salad starter and the fish cake starter (all our starters and mains were from the early bird menu- two courses for €20, rib-eye steak was €5 supplement), they then followed these with either the rib eye steak or salmon. We were all incredibly impressed with the quality of our food.
The restaurant was full but that did not take from the atmosphere at all. The staff remained calm and therefore the noise levels did not reach "din", I really think that when staff run around like headless chickens, which is totally unnecessary, that it has a negative impact on the ambiance. It was really comfortable and from what we could see, the other diners were just as relaxed as we were.
The only low point, is that you've to walk into the foyer and upstairs to use the facilities and get caught by a sharp breeze but this is wholly structural and does not detract from the overall experience.
We'll be back before long, highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.