We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in magical Connemara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anglers Return

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in County Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anglers Return
Toombeola | Roundstone, Connemara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 410 County Galway B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in magical Connemara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A great place to stay on our first but definitely not last visit to Connemara. A very pretty spot and good location for exploring lots of other gems. The house is full of character, the garden brilliant and Lynn makes sure that you feel completely at home. Was quite happy to curl up in the stting room and read on the one rainy day we had. Walking distance to Ballynahinch Castle for a delicous meal.

Room Tip: The pink room is in a corridor next to a small bathroom which most of the other guests don't use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been here twice now and hope to be going back in the next month. The hostess is quite sweet and accommodating and makes a mean breakfast! Many of the rooms share a beautiful large bathroom that boasts a claw-foot tub. There is one room with its own bathroom if that's a problem for you. Each of the guest rooms has it's own lovely design but that stays in keeping with the Martha Stewart meets old ireland kind of feel. Perhaps that's a weird way of putting it but it's truly a delightful place. Her property is also on a garden tour of the area which goes to say that the property is quite nice around her. I like being in this spot so much so that I curled up in the living room for an entire day and read Chocolate (one of the books she had available to read from her collection).

Words really can't do this place justice and I feel I am doing a poor job giving it all the praise it deserves, but to be sure I'm surprised it's not rated higher than it is compared to all other B&B's! I can't imagine anything better.

I went back in 2002, then again last summer... I'll be sure to review again after I go this summer.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom, you have to make sure that room is available. Call her in advance sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Can't say enough about our stay at the Anglers Return. Perfectly situated beside the Ballynahinch river, this is the most peaceful retreat! Of all of the places we stayed, we were happy to have stayed for more than a few days here. The hostess, Lynn Hill, is very accommodating, and very knowledgeable about the area. Gardens are beautiful. Rooms very comfortable. You settle right in as if you lived there. Returning to a warm fire and tea after fishing on the nearby lakes was wonderful. Definitely a return visit in the future for us - we highly recommend this stop on your itinerary!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was my third stay at the Anglers Return and certainly won't be my last. Lynn runs a wonderful guesthouse. The house is overflowing with character and very comfortable. It was lovely to come back after a long hike to a roaring fire in the sitting room. The breakfast is excellent, made with home grown or local produce. Lynn is very helpful and knowledgeable about walking and fishing in the local area and introduced us to some lovely walks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We spent a very comfortable and very quiet night here. The Angler's Return is in a wonderful location for travelling around Connemara. The rooms were rather quaint, but very comfortable. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit compote from the garden, though the cooked 'fry' was not memorable. The garden is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

What a wonderful stay we had visiting The Angler's Return. Hostess, Lynn and her wiley sheep dog offered us a very comfortable, beautiful stay. The area is simply outstanding, with the nearby town of Roundstone a quiet and friendly place. We were VERY comfotable and the house and grounds were very well cared for – with a luxurious country house feel. One of the highlights of angling tour of Ireland!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anglers Return? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglers Return

Address: Toombeola | Roundstone, Connemara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 410 B&Bs / Inns in County Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Derradda Hill, overlooking the famous Ballynahinch River, The Anglers Return was built in the 1800s as a sporting lodge and is now the home of Lynn Hill and her family. The house is a wonderfully peaceful guesthouse enhanced by the log fires and beautiful gardens. Outside, the grounds are highlighted by a profusion of flowers, stone walls, beautiful river views and garden paths. Awarded as one of Bridgestone's "Top 10 Places to Get Away From it All" in 2011, The Anglers Return is a peaceful retreat to rest, relax and enjoy the west of Ireland. Roundstone, a lively picturesque fishing village, with many good restaurants, pubs, traditional irish music, craft shops and galleries, is only 7 minutes away, south-west along the coast road. With wonderful beaches, the coastal area is a delight. Recommended by "McKennas Guides, 100 Best in Ireland", "Alastair Sawday's Special Places" and "Georgina Campbell's Ireland" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anglers Return Ireland/County Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anglers Return, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Anglers Return to your Saves list