We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking the twelve bens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walk Connemara

Walk Connemara
Cloonderavon, Galway, Ireland
+353 87 629 1659
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided walking services. Guided walks in Connemara & Mayo mountains (12 Bens, Maumturks), hills, coast and islands for individuals and groups. Multi-day walking tours. Also self-guiding services including the "Connemara and Mayo - A Walking Guide" book, along with advice and support. Transport can be organised.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Walking the twelve bens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a lovely sunny morning, Saturday 17th April 2013, we departed Ballyconneely and headed to Letterfrack where we met Paul Phelan of Walk Connemara.There were four of us including one determined walker who was about to complete his conquest of the 12 Bens by climbing his last 2 remaining peaks.We drove to Kylemore Abbey and headed in a Southerly direction towards Ben Baun.After a steep climb we reached the top in glorious sunshine.All the way Paul Phelan kept us amused with a constant flow of information about the area including how the farmers used to burn the lime from the rocks and use it as a fertilizer and he pointed out various megalithic and more modern burial places. We then moved on towards BenBreac and had marvellous views west out towards Cleggan and northwards to Mweelrae and Achill.
We then skirted Diamond Hill and made our way back to Letterfrack to watch Munster narrowly defeated by Claremont Auvergne in this year's rugby Heineken Cup.A marvellous day and a grat service from walk Connemara.Will definitely book Paul's services next time in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Issoire, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice walk, very nice man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lot of thanks to Paul Phelan with who I climbed up Benchoa and Twelve Bens. The landscapes are so beautiful. Paul Phelan is a very experimented guide. He learned me how to enjoy walking with pools. Before starting, the walk was a bit uncertain because of the wind wich might become very dangerous at the summits. But at the end of the morning, the weather became better, and we managed to climb Benchoa. Good luck to Paul Phelan for this activity very enjoyable in Connemara.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Magical Massive Mweelrea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've been looking up at Connacht's highest mountain for years but always felt It was a bit daunting. Finally got my chance this month with 2 friends, perfect weather and the able guidance of Paul Phelan from Walk Connemara. Based near Clifden, we were planning to go the "easy" way up from the west side, which entails a long drive round the head of Killary and through Doolough pass, but Paul pulled out all the stops and got his pals at Scubadive West on the southern side of the fjord to drop us across by rib, so we could ascend straight up from the sea. No cheating when you start a climb from a boat!. Very steep but surprisingly do-able, we were quickly rewarded by a birds eye view of Killary and surrounding amazing beaches. Three hours later we were basking in windless conditions on the summit, something I doubt happens very often. Paul leads with a quiet confidence and is very knowledgeable about the area and potential hazards. We explored a deserted famine village on the descent, before hopping back into the rib for the return across the mouth of Killary. An encounter with the resident pod of dolphins, an exhilarating post walk dip in the turquoise waters of Glasillaun bay and great refreshment and food in friendly Coynes pub in nearby Tully Cross rounded off a memorable Connemara day's walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Walks, Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I attended the Walk Connemara guided walks as part fo the Inisbofin Walking Festival. The walks were varied, well planned and excellently hosted by Paul Phelan, the principal of Walk Connemara.The Sunset walk brought us to the outer western fringes of the island as the sun began to set. En route we got local natural and archaeological history. The following day's walks, including a trip to the local uninhabited Inishark island were equally good. This part of Ireland has stunning natural beauty. This is hugely enhanced with the local expert knowledge of Walk Connemara's guides. (Paul is also the author of a fabulous local walk guide, well worth the price). Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrinturn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GLENCOAGHAN HORSESHOE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Myself and Mary from Co. Mayo did this hike on saturday the 21st of April, 2012 and we really enjoyed it.....It took us about 71/2 hrs to complete the 6 of the 12 Bens but we just loved it and enjoyed the beautuful scenery. The weather was cold and windy but it didn't hamper our walk at all...

All these were possible with the help of Paul's guide book called Connemara & Mayo - A walking guide. He's been so descriptive and spot on about the routes and the time. All we needed was his book and a compass...Hats off to Paul for writing this lovely guide book for people like us giving all the inside -out details which made our walk quite a memorable one....

Thank you Paul so so much for your book....Roshan

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk Connemara also viewed

 

Been to Walk Connemara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk Connemara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.