We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rochestown Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rochestown Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Rochestown Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire 00000, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Dunadry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

stopped here one night due to its location for some business. The rooms are large enough but on a winters night the window was left open and was very cold. The radiator gurgled all night and took long time to restore some heat. We were upgraded to an executive room which was nice though. There is a sports facility and spa attached thought did not have time to use these, stays open until 10pm. Having a meal in the bar, the food was of a good standard and not expensive. Tea/coffee making available, iron/hairdryer, free wifi added to comfort. Staff at reception very friendly. Some packages available with the spa which may be of interest. There are a few shops nearby. 5 mins to the N50

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    26
    21
    9
See reviews for
42
40
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived at the RLH for a 3 night stay very early in the morning (approx 8.30am) and expected to be turned away - this wasn't the case and we were given access to our room immediately. As already stated on this site the rooms are starting to tire but they are spacious, comfortable and clean. The food in the Restaurant was beautiful, good selection available on the Menu and reasonably priced. The Bar was lively but not too busy and there was live music on during our stay although try and avoid getting a room over the bar if a band is on and you are wanting an early night!! The Gym/Swimming area were great.
Also, as we were leaving very early on the last day and we had paid for breakfast the staff offered a packed breakfast/tea and toast on our wake up call.
All in all a great hotel with exceptionally friendly staff who were there to help us wherever possible. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Not above the bar if you are staying whilst there is Live Music on and you want an early night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a large hotel which looks very smart from the website. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed although the one I stayed in was starting to look a little tired.
I arrived late and had a meal in the bar. The food was tasty and good value with excellent service.
Breakfast was underwhelming (quality) and below what I would of expected for a hotel of this standing but again the staff were helpful and friendly. A short drive from downtown Dublin. Worth considering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberporth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited this hotel for a family reunion (my cousins live within walking distance from hotel) and we really couldn't fault the hotel. The welcome was outstanding, the bar staff really pleasant and the restaurant staff brilliant. We arrived off the ferry on the Thursday night having had to travel up from Rosslare, and as we had eaten on the boat weren't ready for food before the restaurant closed. The fabulous bar staff arranged for sandwiches to be made for us which they wrapped up and we took to our room. We could then go and visit our family and when we came back at 11 pm were able to enjoy our sandwiches. On the Friday we enjoyed our meal at the hotel and this was outstanding, absolutely fabulous and the full Irish breakfast was especially enjoyed by me each day! We didn't have any further evening meals at the hotel, only because our family had made arrangements for us on the Saturday night.

I didn't personally use the spa facilities although my sister did each morning enjoying a swim and sauna, and she thought it was excellent.

On our final day, we weren't able to have breakfast because we had to leave by 5.45 am to catch the ferry from Rosslare again. We were told we could come down in the morning and see if we could catch the chef to ask him to make us something, but as we would be rushing that morning we bought some supplies from the local shop. When we checked out, the night before leaving, the staff member told us that he would gladly made us tea and toast with our morning call, which we thought was excellent, although we declined as we had already made arrangements - but the thought was there! I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We (hubby, 18 month old baby and I) had a very enjoyable three night stay in the Rochestown Hotel. But I would heed all the previous reviews. I would love to say the stay was faultless, as the Hotel is capable of that, but it was it bit upsy downsy?! When it was up the service and food was excellent, when it was down, it was patchy. Our reception was just ok, but once we did get the full attention of the receptionist she was very good, and thereafter any queries helpfully handled. We had chosen to upgrade to an Executive room for our stay for an extra 10 euros a night. Pleased we did. The room was spacious and the bed big, comfy and made for a great trampoline for the baby!

We lunched on our arrival, which came down to expediency really as I had read the menu on-line before travelling and wasn’t particularly inspired by it, but we had family and friends coming to meet and join us. When the food arrived it was so much better than the menu suggested. For that reason we chose to eat in the bar / bistro the next evening with friends. This time the food was a real let down and the service even worse. On raising this we were informed we should have said before we started our meal.... but we didn’t see any of the waiting staff until at least 45 minutes after we had finished our meal – being a slow eater this must have been about an hour and a half after our meals arrived. I was embarrassed I had recommended eating here. Our package included a one night meal that we had planned for our final evening. I was really not looking forward to that, but it was a truly exception meal, in the restaurant this time, with attentive and understanding service (baby was more interested in making a mess and exploring than sitting in her chair so hubby and I had to take turns respectively eating and chasing baby).

A highlight for me was the use of the pool. Baby’s first introduction to an indoor pool with all the smells and noises was a joy, and when we returned the next day we even got as far as the fourth step! The leisure facilities appear to be well used, staff lovely, although I agree with previous reviews that a deep clean wouldn’t go amiss. Amongst other highlights, the locals added a real fun and lively atmosphere to the bar, and the bar staff were always faultless.... going above and beyond.

Breakfast was very adequate, but nothing to write home about. The value for our three night special package with upgrade was excellent. We would stay again without hesitation.

PS The free water that a previous reviewer referred to was a nice touch, but could we figure out how to open it without a bottle opener?..... maybe we missed something?!

Room Tip: Pleased we upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a coach driver I have stayed in many hotels throughout Ireland,when my wife booked a w/end break I was looking foward to the break, we arrived Fri. Eve,greeted by very poor welcome,seemed the woman couldn't been bothered,sharp n nasty,dinner in the bar was ok,breakfast next morning was very slow,not very many at b.fast- not a good indication! One man on his own to serv everyone,tables not cleaned,when our b.fast arrived the food was floating in grease,I actually soaked it up with my napkin before I started to eat! His attitude was : what do you want,very very disappointed at the whole experience and would highly recommend that anyone whom may be staying,or looking to stay here to look else where! Only good thing is the free wi-fi!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at the Rochestown Lodge and would like to say that it has been one of the most pleasant places I have stayed. The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpful, especially the bar staf. Had a meal in the restaurant and can honestly say it was absolutey delicious and well worth the money. The room was a good size and very clean and the spa facilities were really good. This was my first trip to Ireland and I can't wait to go back and will definitely be booking the Rochestown again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel

Address: Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochestown Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.