We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Hotel to your Saves list
Kingston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adelaide Street, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dun Laoire was once called Kingston or Kingstown when it was British owned so I suppose this is how the hotel gets it's name.
We stayed here on a holiday weekend and the place was very busy, the decor in the entrance is a bit dated but the very friendly staff make up for this.
The rooms are fine very clean with all you could want including tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the sea and is a real hearty irish breakfast.
For the rest of the day the restaurant is Italian with lots of tempting dishes on offer and served again by very pleasant staff.
The hotel is nestled at the end of a cul-de-sac with a pathway down to the harbour and there is a lovely seating area looking on to the sea for residents.
Rates are very reasonable and well worth it for what you get.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front will have a fabulous view,but you will hear trains passing quite frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    28
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
54
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Kingston is in a great location just over the road from the pier and only a short walk from the DART station. Views from the hotel are great out over the bay. I've stayed here a couple of times recently which traveling for business. The rooms are adequate, the decor is a little dated and some of the fittings are a little shabby, but overall it is clean and tidy. There is also free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. The breakfast is pretty reasonable too.

The Oliveto restaurant which is attached to the hotel serves wonderful food and has very friendly staff. I have been told that the Oliveto restaurant is actually not owned or run by the same people as the hotel.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view also get the noise from the trains passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I found hotels on the date I wanted to be very expensive in central Dublin. I found this hotel for one night for a twin room for around £75 (GBP). Transport links into Dublin were good with the inexpensive DART train service running every 20 minutes with a 20 minute journeys time to several city center stations, Pearse, Tara St and Connolly. The station is a 5 minute walk to the station. The rooms were clean but a little rough round the edges. This is an old hotel but the rooms looked as though they were recently decorated. The lock on the bathroom was missing, the shower head had come away from the wall and the shaving light did not work. This is a small compromise for the price difference. I had an excellent nights sleep as the room was a good temperature, quite and a good firm bed. The breakfast was very good and buffet style with a reasonable choice. We were treated to a very good sunny morning and the sea view at breakfast was stunning. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The location is lovely, right across from the pier and a nice beach only 15 minutes walk along the lovely seafront. The sea view rooms are great. It has an old charm to it which I like and is lovely and warm. The staff are lovely, I lost my phone there and I had it back the very next day. They are very accommodating and friendly. The Bar is nice, somewhat sophisticated with a restaurant which I am told does very good food, as long as you dont get the set menu which comes with a deal. Breakfast was yummy. Tvs are flat screen with plenty of channels. Bed is super comfy. Best place to stay if you want to experience Dunlaoire, no doubt.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view, they are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's not often that you can surprise a bunch of 30 somethings who spend most of their summers attending wedding after wedding. Nor would you have thought you could surprise people who have lived in Dublin all their lives and taken many a stroll down the East Pier in Dun Laoghaire. However, this summer jaws dropped at the beautiful garden of overlooking the pier, fabulous food and wonderful hospitality shown to us by the team at the Kingston Hotel. Their attention to detail from Pimms in jam jars, to quirky signs and pretty table settings was superb. The staff pulled out all the stops to ensure that the evening went seamlessly. Such level of service when attending to 120 guests was more than impressive. I know that they've since earned themselves some new customers who were delighted to find this gem.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view to the front of the hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Meath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to the bar and garden at the Kingston on Saturday afternoon with some friends for some pizzas and drinks and I can only say the service was shocking.
After waiting for nearly 10 minutes to be served without any acknowledgement I had to leave, and we went somewhere else.
There were 2 staff members and what appeared to be a manager or family member, and only about 5 or 6 people trying to get served.
Both staff member were red faced and completely flustered, whilst the manager just appeared to be walking around and was above rolling up his sleeves and pulling a pint. It was deeply frustrating, and a lady beside me was getting equally annoyed.
I'd completely understand if the place was busy and they were understaffed but it was simply as if we were invisible. I was astonished at their lack of efficiency, or ability to multitask.

In times like this there's any number of efficient, intellect and over qualified people queuing up to take jobs like this.
It's difficult enough to pay staff, but to pay staff that are actually denying their employer revenue is another matter.
We would have easily spent several hundred euros there in an afternoon, and staff like this will deny their employer a seizable amount in turnover over the space of a year.

Were also told that we couldn't eat our pizza outside which seemed odd as it was a beautiful day and there were tables outside. Good pizzas though!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noordwijk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend with a group of friends, we had 3 separate bedrooms so I could compare rooms. Two couples had rooms with seaviews, lovely view indeed on the Bay, brand new bathroom and comfortable beds but the rooms were rather small compared to our room without a view. A word of warning for those booking seaview rooms, do not take the rooms on the first floor because they are directly above the breakfast room and as of 6:00 you get woken up by the noise of the staff setting up for breakfast + the noise of the deliveries. Our room was on the 5th floor without a view however it was a big room (a double + 1 single) and although the bathroom could do with a makeover it was fine for the weekend. We had tea/coffee facility in the room, a hairdryer, shower + bath. The breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional but not the worst as some described. Some of the staff at reception were friendly and some were rather stern looking, not very smiley , should probably not work being the reception desk.
The best is the view, fantastic terrasse and little patio with a couple of tables. The Dart train station is 200 m from the hotel and takes you in 10mn to Dublin center, and the aircoach from/to the airport stops 100 m from the hotel.
The location is for sure the asset of the hotel, I do agree that it could do with a bit of freshening up especially in the lobby area (a new carpet might help make it smell better!).

Room Tip: stay away from the 1st floor above the reception, it's noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Address: Adelaide Street, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
Kingston Hotel Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.