We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, welcoming and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferryman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ferryman Hotel to your Saves list
Ferryman Hotel
35 sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
LINCOLNSHIRE UK
1 review
“warm, welcoming and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Warm welcome on arrival, nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean and functional. About 15min walk to the main area. Would definately go back, thanks to all there for making our stay so much fun...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    45
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
38
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

do not be fooled by the pictures that are posted on the net, it was filthy dirty, you couldnt swing a rat in the bathroom, it was dated tatty and smelly! the staff were unhelpful and unwelcoming, the breakfast room was dirty with filthy windows to try and see out of, the chairs were ripped and stained, we could not wait to get out of there. i definateley would advise you against staying here.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I recent was on a Pub Tour of Ireland and stayed at the Maldron Hotel, Cardiff Lane, which is located a few buildings down from the Ferryman. The Maldron, being very contemporary, me and my friend went in search of a real irish pub and happened upon the Ferryman. I loved the pub, the bartenders and the owner. I had a chance to see one of the rooms upstairs and it was beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel and I plan on staying at the Ferryman on my next trip to Dublin.

Stayed March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This was a great place to stay in Dublin. It was a reasonable price and in close proximity to many attractions. We were able to walk to the downtown area. We had a nice view of the River Liffey right outside our window. The only problem was the construction right below us that started at 6 am everyday. We were, however, so exhausted one morning from all our siteseeing that we actually slept through the sound of the jackhammers. The hotel is pretty quiet and you can come and go as you please. It was nice to have a drink in the pub downstairs in the evening. No problems experienced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Ferryman is situated just outside the bus routes, so had to walk which took about 10mins to get there could easily have got a taxi. Although the rooms are basic had a very pleasant stay. Road works until next year, but did not get much interference. very hot water, showers great. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. Room service every morning and towels changed daily. Breakfast brillant. Only problem was to getting a taxi into town for the night life. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We've stayed at the Ferryman at least a dozen times over the last decade. The owners are the nicest family, and they always make everyone feel so welcome. There's no better pub in the world to enjoy good company and conversation, not just with your own party but with "the locals" as well. The B & B accommodations are basic but quite comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is wonderful, especially in the rooms facing the river. This will always be our Dublin "headquarters."

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Chose the Ferryman for Location and the fact that it had rooms with three single beds. The city centre was in walking distance, so easy for sightseeing, but no other pubs close by, so had to get a taxi back from Temple Bar each evening.
The pub itself was fantastic, a real welcoming atmosphere with live music and a brilliant breakfast in the morning.
Rooms were clean and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferryman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryman Hotel

Address: 35 sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ferryman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryman Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferryman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.