We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but at least cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Larder

The Larder
8 Parliament Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 633 3581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $41
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Modern Irish Restaurant serving quality driven Food & Drinks. We Brew our own beer, roast our own coffee and grow in our own walled garden.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average but at least cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had Sunday lunch there with my wife.2 course for only €13,but in the end wasn't really worth any more.For starters:I had carrot and coconut soup(bland and lack of seasoning),she had rocket salad with balsamic dressing sun dried tomato and Parmesan(nothing exciting but not bad eighter)
For maintenances we had Lamb burger and Goat's cheese tart.I asked for burger m-rare and I was told that they only cooked burgers well:(My wife's tart was tasty but came with rocket salad and the same balsamic dressing that she had for starter.I think that if u are putting set menu with 3 starters and 4 main courses u should at least come up with different garnishes for ur dishes.Glass of chardonnay that we had was very good.Service very poor.No one even asked if we enjoyed the food.At the end waiter insted charging us for a glass of wine wanted to charge for a whole bottle.Overall wasn't the worst experience but i wont comeback again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    126
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome at cosy Larder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

With not much time before theatre-going, I dropped into The Larder - not for my first time - and had a delicious meal served with no delay and in very well-presented dishes by extremely polite and attentive waiting staff.... despite the early-bird time of the evening, no compromise was perceptible in the food or service quality and the ambiance was unhurried and made me wish I could stay longer....
MC

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A satisfying lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday and were seated right away, even though they were moderately full. The decor was cozy and welcoming (armchairs, round tables, lots of wood), and the service was friendly and reasonably prompt. My husband had a lovely steak sandwich with chips and a cappuccino, and I had tasty beer-battered fish and chips and a pot of tea. We finished with a tasty rhubarb crumble and fresh whipped cream.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was very good. Shame about the moody waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ate here for our last night, menu was limited, but the food was very good, i recommend the lamb burger. How ever the prices are steep, and the service was poor. The waitress that served us was abrupt and snappy with her answers, she seemed very unwilling to help or infact do her job.
Would eat here again if the service was improved.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire in UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice "cosy" cafe-style restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal in this restaurant, which delivers good food every time.

They offer at early-bird menu which gives a cheaper meal option, if you can dine earlier in the evening.

We had mains plus desserts as the food is always quite filling. The portions are ample and certainly fill you up. I had the duck with put lentils and a chocolate torte which was to literally "die for". I savoured every single mouthful of this exquisite treat, which was served with cream and vanilla ice cream.

The ambience was perfect, although t can get busier as the evening goes on. It is quite nice to enjoy this place a bit earlier, when you can sit at a cosy table for a nice, romantic meal.

I discovered there is no actual bar here, so you have to have wines only, which I personally tend to prefer a spirit based aperitif as I find I cannot consume so much wine, particularly give the meal is a full one.

The best table in the restaurant is definitely the low, front-window table for two, which provides a delightful and romantic setting, especially when candle-lit!

This was my second visit, and I am sure that I will be back time and time again, as this is a lovely location I the heart of Dublin's fair city, serving high quality dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Larder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.