We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading website, poor quality room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avondale House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avondale House to your Saves list
Avondale House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   40-41 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Misleading website, poor quality room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this guesthouse for one night. We chose it due to the website, photos, price, and location.

When we arrived, our room was on the very top floor, with no elevator (which made bringing luggage up awkward). Our first impression was that the room had a bad smell, and a view onto a burnt out church. We had ordered a double room en-suite, but the bed was smaller than a double bed. It was awkward for two people to sleep in. The bathroom was extremely small, which made it near impossible to manoeuvre in, or take a comfortable shower. There were no lockers to place TV remote, glasses, phones etc.

The location of the house was good, as it is less than a five minute walk to Connolly Station, BusAras, O'Connell St. But, aside from this, we were very disappointed in this house. For less than €20 extra we could have stayed in a chain hotel that was located very close.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    35
    41
    51
See reviews for
13
58
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My mom and I just returned from a trip to Dublin. This B&B was pretty good. Everything was clean, just outdated/tacky. And you're paying for the location - all the B&Bs/hotels in that area are very old buildings so they will all be the same. Breakfast was awesome, you got hot food; not just cereal and toast. Staff was friendly and accommodating, the called us several taxis and gave good directions. The only thing that was bad were the thin walls. Our last night we heard a couple arguing, another room snoring and party people getting back early in the morning. Sharing a toilet isn't bad - you still have your own sink and shower (although the shower pressure sucks, still gets the soap out though).

Overall not bad and I would stay there again. Typical hotel in a big city, similar to where I stayed in NYC. Enjoyed it for the most part!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We wanted a hotel close to the Connolly train station and the Avondale House was our only option for the night. It was quite expensive for a room with a miniscule shower and a shared bathroom. The price included breakfast but they do not start serving breakfast until 8am which was half an hour after we needed to depart so we did not get to try it out.

The room was a decent size but the walls were paper thin. I could hear our neighbor's cell phone ringing during the night. The noise from the street was shockingly loud even with the windows closed. The pillows were extremely thin and there were no extra pillows in the room.

The room seemed relatively clean and we were tired enough that we were able to sleep despite the noise. It was nicer than staying in a hostel but a hostel would have been a much better value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not facing Gardiner Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Disgusting as soon as you walk through the door. Smells of smoke and the tiny shower that's basically on top of the bed is just a joke. Paper thin walls, could hear the guest next door snoring. Breakfast was average also.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Guest House is conveniently located in Dublin and near the rail station. For the price provides the basics - a very basic bedroom and a good breakfast. If you are looking to visit dublin on a shoestring budget and will be spending most of your time out and about this is for you. Should you require any little luxury from your accomodation or a private bathroom or lots of peace and quiet I would suggest somewhere else. The staff were helpful, if a little noisy at night, and there was the added bonus that we could leave our luggage at the guest house before we checked in and once we had checked out.

Room Tip: Choose Higher floors - the ground floor is very noisy and far away from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I first stayed at the Avondale 18 years ago. It was bad then but now it's a dump. I am not really a fussy person and i have stayed in some grotty places before but the Avondale gets 1st prize. The single room i stayed in was approximately 7ft x 6ft. It had a smashed up blind which was only kept open by jamming it with the window latch. The provision to hang your clothes was a metal bar sticking out of the wall. The TV did not work and the shower and toilet along the ally way was cold and dirty. I usually stay at O'Shea's across the road for the same price. I will NEVER stop athe the Avondale again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My worst experience ever. Having booked a double room for one night for 60 euro, my expectations were really low, but I was still disgusted. We got a room right in front of the reception and the entrance. The room was cold, old and depressing. everything looked like it was going to fall apart. The bathroom had no shelves and not a single hook on the walls - no place to put your stuff or hang a towel. The walls were paper-thin, the door had a 1cm gape on the side, one could nearly see through, the windows were horrible - one layer of glass in a thin frame. It felt like sleeping outside.
Service was not good either - this is not a classical family-driven B&B at all, no Irish staff to be seen, one of the receptionists did not even bother to open the window and talked to me through the glass. The breakfast was a bad copy of "full Irish"
The only thing positive for us was the central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avondale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale House

Address: 40-41 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Avondale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.