We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winding Stair

Winding Stair
Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)
01 872 7320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North City Centre
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here on the recommendation of a friend of our daughter for brunch. Not disappointed! Food was outstanding, service great, plus a lovely view of the River Liffey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    327
    193
    62
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Informally enticing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a bit quirky in that the restaurant is above a book shop and there is a bit of a library theme in the restaurant. Our guide from the Historical Walking Tours of Dublin recommended this restaurant and we can see why. We turned up about 7:30 on a Saturday night without a booking and although we were accommodated we were told there was a table coming at 8:30 (although we left later and we weren't rushed). The food was scrumptious and the service attentive but not overbearing and there is a really lively atmosphere. We would eat here again if we ever came back again but would make a reservation for lunch so that we could get a table overlooking the Liffey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cosy, quaint and well worth a visit....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I do a lot of research when trying to find somewhere to eat in a town I am not familiar with. This restaurant kept popping up as one to try, so we did. I am happy to say all the reviews were correct. Good food, good space, good waiters, and good advice re wine. I looked around at the other patrons, and I can honestly say they all looked relaxed and happy, a good sign. Well done to all concerned. You deserve all accolades!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Cosy Atmosphere, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of my go to places in Dublin, never disappointed! Have been on a number of occasions and the food has been very good, always enjoy the smoked fish platter. Fresh local ingredients are sourced and it makes a difference to the quality of food.
Its a relaxed setting and has great views over the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a diamond in the rough within a city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Some good friends told me about this place while mentioning my trip to dublin. The restaurant itself is kind of hidden, and very rustic from the outside. I would suggest you make reservations, or come super early if you plan on crashing it. The wine selection is nice, and seasonal menu is impressive. I had the monk fish, bread pudding, and seasonal salad for my meal. the menu is seasonal so plan for that. It's about 40 euros person on average. It's an amazing view during the winter! (hint hint)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winding Stair also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Winding Stair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winding Stair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.