We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Cafe

Boulevard Cafe
27 Exchequer Street, Dublin, Ireland
016792131
Improve this listing
Ranked #720 of 1,916 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a find! having already eaten brunch at 10am, by 3pm we were desperately seeking one place in Dublin that was serving regular food (It seems on a Sunday, Brunch in Dublin is ubiquitous!). Happened upon this little place and absolutely loved it. Their house red was very drinkable for a reasonable prive, and their food was very good. Its not fine dining, but for a lazy afternoon meal with wine, it was perfect. The portions were quite large, and the menu was quite varied. Happily, it did not break the bank either. Would return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    81
    29
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's raining men!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place! The food was amazing and very filling! Didn't have to wait too long either considering there were 13 of us. Would highly recommend the beef and chorizo hotpot which was delicious followed by the Mississippi mud pie. The staff catered well for hen parties and treated our lovely hen to a drink accompanied by 'stand by your man' playing over the speakers. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Boulevard Cafè.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hen Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Amazing! Hen party of 13 well catered for. All sat together on a large table. We ate off the group menu and the food was amazing!!! The service, quality and price were all excellent too. We had a really enjoyable night and would highly recommend the Boulevard Cafe!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Back to its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First ate here about 12 years ago and it was excellent. Not sure if it changed management a few years later because it really went downhill in food, service and atmosphere.
Great news its back!!
Had an early starter menu at £18.95 for two courses.
So much choice on the menu i wished i could eat here for a week.
Service was exceptional, funny, attentive waiting staff who really made the experience.
Food was superb, beautifully presented and perfectly cooked.
Wine was reasonably priced and we loved the way they presented the deserts so you could see them all before making a choice.

Definately eat here, a really good choice in Dublin

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our 4th visit. What can't you like about this place! Great atmosphere, great food, reasonable prices and pleasant staff. I have seen some adverse comments but can only speak for myself and can honestly say that we have never had a problem with reservations using discounted vouchers or cards. All I can say is make sure that you make it clear that you wish to use these discounted items and print out any confirmations. This is a busy restaurant and if you book for say 7pm don't expect to turn up at 7.30pm and see an empty table. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulevard Cafe also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Boulevard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.