We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional taste of homemade food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madina Desi Curry Co.

Madina Desi Curry Co.
60 Mary Street | Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland
018726007
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,041 of 1,884 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional taste of homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just in Dublin city center at the end of Henry St. (one of the main shopping streets), Madina it´s a good restaurant to make a break for lunch or dinner.
For only 15 euro we shared a brown rice dish, a very tasty lamb tikka masala and a popular coriander and garlic naan. Everything was delicious and the service was fast, professional and friendly.
If you don´t like spicy food you can ask for non-spicy or sweet dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    5
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Very good food & great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First visit today. Friendly staff. Ordered the chicken biryani on the bone. One of the best I've had in years. Rice, sauce & meat all very tasty. At 5.95, a bargain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Food in this Restaurant was so Authentic I Thought I was in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stand by the title of this review "The Food in this Restaurant was so Authentic I Thought I was in India". I had dosa (a traditional Indian Pancake) washed down with lassi (a traditional drink) followed by ice-cream for dessert and from start to finish the whole meal was delicious. The bill came to less than €13 per person for the lot, there were more expensive dishes (which I look forward to trying next time), in fact the entire menu is inexpensive.

The staff were nice, the decor austere and not too fussy, you could say the restaurant was is basic enough, but what more do you want when the food is excellent and such good value.

I would highly recommend Madina Desi to anyone that wants the full Indian experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favourite place for curry etc. in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place may not look like an amazing restaurant from the outside, surrounded by odd ball shops in the middle of Mary Street.. also the decor may not say "our food is delicious" but it really is wonderful.

I am vegetarian and this is some of the tastiest vegetarian food I have had in Dublin. So full of flavour and such a wide selection of things to choose from. They also do take-away which can be very handy when you want something really nice to take-away in the City Centre.

Also the staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone should make it their business to eat here if they are from Dublin or even if you are just visiting!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always delicious halal food right in the middle of Dublin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I always make a point to visit Madina when I visit Dublin. I had a quarter chicken with rice. It is always wonderfully spiced and the portion size is always generous. I prefer this to the Nandos just up the road from Madina, which I believe is not halal. Good selection of choices for all members of my family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madina Desi Curry Co. also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Madina Desi Curry Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madina Desi Curry Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.