We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of F.X.Buckley. Steakhouse Crow Street Temple Bar

F.X.Buckley. Steakhouse Crow Street Temple Bar
Crow street | 2 Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Fxb Grill @ Crow Street) (Temple Bar)
01 671 1248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $0 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Serving Ireland’s best steak in Temple Bar with the experience and knowledge of over 25 years of serving the perfect steak. We change our menus seasonally to reflect the best that Irish produce has to offer and to ensure the highest quality of local fresh seafood. We offer an informed wine list to meet all budgets and an extensive selection of cocktails and spirits.The way in which we guarantee the highest quality in beef in both texture and flavour is by selecting Irish beef and the highest grade of traditional breeds of cattle. Our butchers choose the highest quality grade of cattle on the basis of fat content, marbling and quality. All restaurant grade beef is grass fed and is dry aged to perfection for a minimum of 28 days. At F.X.BUCKLEY our prime cuts are hung on the bone at 4°C and at 80% humidity.Storing meat for several weeks where it can loose up to 16% of its weight involves considerable expertise so all F.X.BUCKLEY butchers are specifically trained for the process. The benefit for our patrons is to experience the concentration and saturation of natural meat flavours and superior tenderness. Hence why you will hear experts use terms like "buttery and rich" and "earthy and nutty" to describe our dry-aged beef.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had a really lovely dinner here recently. The restaurant is cosy and welcoming. Steak was cooked just perfectly. Great wine list too. What impressed me most about the restaurant was how attentive and friendly the staff were. Nicest waiting staff I have encountered in Dublin in a while.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    131
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“An Excellent Last-Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On our last night in Ireland we decided to do something a little special for dinner. Since we had many seafood dinners on this trip we both desired steaks. It was easy to make a reservation on Open Table. We walked to Temple Bar after crossing the Ha’Penny Bridge. We walked around until we found the restaurant, well early of or dinner reservation, so we headed to a pub for some ale and music before dinner. When we arrived for dinner there were many tables available on this weeknight in the fall. We both ordered steak and they were flavorful, probably due to being grass fed and properly aged. I had a rib eye and my wife enjoyed a filet. They were cooked perfectly. We also split a Caesar salad and had an amazing dessert of sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce and ice cream. The service was very good and it was a very pleasant, last-night dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

One of the best restaurants we have been too.
Setting, Service and Food All Fantastic.
We went mid-week but was still very busy so glad we booked.
We went in just before 7 so took advantage of their pre-theatre meal deal at 19:95 for two courses fantastic value ( we would of paid the full menu price )
I had a rump steak and it was gorgeous, went for chips which were home cooked too.m
A litte bit annoying that you have to pay for veg etc separately but again worth it as we're delicious. Recommend the onion rings too.
Service all polite & friendly.
Quite small restaurant but I prefer this, very quaint and well thought out space wise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fab food, fab service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went to the FXB in crow street on a saturday for a romantic dinner. My lady got the Salmon dish and I got the 12oz. rib eye steak. What a steak was that? I sincerely thing that was the best steak I have ever tried in my life. My lady was pretty much satisfied too. The waiter (maybe the manager) was so good on suggesting the wine: he gave us a very good value South African Pinotage which I'd say matched perfectly my meal. At the end we had a vanilla ice cream topped with expresso coffee which crowned perfectly our beautiful culinary experience. Well done guys!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buochs, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still the best Beef in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were back there this year and I have to say, I was very happy with "The butcher grill", but this restaurant is even better (but there's only a small margin at the toppest level)...
Absolut fantastic Filet, cooked to its perfection, very good Bruschetta as a starter, and very freindly service - until it came to closing time and they were more interested in cleaning up than in the guests (which was the only small point to complain). But we were there for the Meet and we will be back, for sure!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F.X.Buckley. Steakhouse Crow Street Temple Bar also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to F.X.Buckley. Steakhouse Crow Street Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F.X.Buckley. Steakhouse Crow Street Temple Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.