We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic French restaurant in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Max

Chez Max
1 Palace St., Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 (0)1 633 7215
Improve this listing
Ranked #542 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Most authentic French restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food is great value. All of the waiting staff are French and very charming. The starters were delicious and very generous portions. We had beef tongue in tomato sauce and melted brie in filo pastry. Then for mains we had tuna steak and steak and chips. The cut of the steak could have been better but it was perfectly cooked and very delicious. For desserts we had lemon meringue tart and creme brulee. Again, everything was gorgeous. We splashed out a bit of the wine and got a 2008 St Emilion blend for €43 which was really wonderful. The decor is great, the restuarant has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    97
    28
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

When visiting Dublin for four days we ate at seven different places - this was by far the best place!!
The service was very good and the food was excellent. We had a very nice starter to share and a main each. WOW!!!! It was so good!!
I'd go back if I visit Dublin again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We expect more from the French!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This wasn't the best or worst food I've ever had. It was simply mediocre. The salad was the best part of the food. The French onion soup was strange with croutons instead of a hearty piece of bread, and grated cheese on the side. Why try and re-invent the wheel. The wine was also middle of the road, not memorable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great little place near the castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very good French bistro with good food , outdoor seating and good atmosphere inside. Best to book if there are a few of you. A bit pricey but perhaps worth a try

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not bowled over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lunched here a while ago and wasn't overly impressed. Chose the croque monsieur which came with chips. The sandwich was served on what seemed like plain sliced pan and was disappointingly lacking on flavour. The chips were on a par with Mc Donalds, I don't really like thin chips. The service was fine but I don't think I'll be trying it again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.